Skip to content

The Restyled Sharpie RT Pens Finally Make It to Vermont!

01/10/2011


Generally speaking, I don’t dig on retractable pens. I’m perfectly capable of hanging on to my caps, so the key engineering solution provided by a retractable pen doesn’t appeal to me. Also, I can’t really stand the freaking clicking noise. This might stem from the dude who sat near me in a Sociology class I took when I first got to college who would click the hell out of his pens during tests. Thus causing me once to turn around and say in a low, scary voice, “Click that pen one more time. Seriously. I dare you. Click it again and I’ll shove that pen down your throat.” Or something along those lines. A bold move given that he had me by at least a foot, though I had him by a few lbs. Nevertheless, any excuse to venture out to the big box office supply retailers is always welcome, even if it is for retractable pens!

Sharpie RTs got a makeover back in November. Now this all happened while I was off doing other things, but when I stopped into my neighborhood Staples they seemed to finally be carrying all the new colors: purple, orange and green. Now, I’m not sure who in the world decided orange ought to be one of the featured colors; maybe they’re a Syracuse fan. That said, I dislike orange ink as much as I dislike red, so I wasn’t exactly interested in that color. Now the purple and the green are a different story. Those colors are fantastic!

For those who don’t know, the Sharpie Pen has all the goodness of regular Sharpie markers with less odor and paper bleed through. They are really great pens, but as a person who isn’t a Sharpie fan girl, I’m not always as enthusiastic about the product line as I should be. Though this makeover has definitely made me more of a convert. I love the changes, subtle as they might be.

top - new hotness, bottom - old and busted

The chief quibble with the original Sharpie RT was the short supply of ink. Office Supply Geek wrote up the pen and even took it apart to get to the bottom of its vanishing ink mysteries. I won’t know until I use the pen more if that issue has been resolved. It appears most of the redesign involves the outer workings of the pen. The toggle, which used to be shiny chrome is now black! And there is a color coded ring to indicate the ink shade. That’s nice too. Everything else about the barrel is more streamlined and not so many bumps and ridges. I don’t know what they were there for in the first place and I certainly don’t miss them now. It seems like the barrel is a hair thicker, but I haven’t found anything suggesting that was one of the new design elements. In any case I love the feel of the pen in my hand. I don’t like how the RT toggle makes a bunch of noise when its depressed. It sounded like a doggie chew toy when I was drafting a to-do list, or maybe that’s just me. That would be the only real negative of the redesign. Overall, I’m really impressed with the new Sharpie RT. Yay!

Ooh, check out my blowout bargain bonanza on my Blackberry skins! And the Sharpie Pens, normally a spendy $9.99 for three were bogo (buy one, get one) and I was all over that. I don’t know how long that new hotness is going to last at Staples, but if you’re at all interested in this pen you better hop to it!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/10/2011 1:31 pm

    I have some of these pens and love how they write, but I’ve been gun-shy about taking them anywhere with me ever since an unfortunate incident involving a Sharpie pen I thought was retracted, and a handbag that will never be the same.

    Maybe I should go back to caps after all.

  2. 01/10/2011 1:45 pm

    I was wondering about that, Michelle. If I carry a Sharpie RT with me it’s usually in a plastic ziploc bag because I’m not sure I could take losing a bag to an ink mishap.

  3. 01/12/2011 9:07 pm

    I recently had a Sharpie stick pen spit up all over my hand. Fortunately it had been in a pen cup and the tight-fitting cap did a good job of containing the damage. Still I think I may start to re-think the way I usually carry one or two of these around with me.

  4. aliciamaud74 permalink
    01/14/2011 3:48 pm

    I have some of these on the way, and am eagerly awaiting their arrival…

  5. 01/14/2011 11:34 pm

    @aliciamaud74 – I can’t wait to hear what you think of them. Have you tried the other colors before?

  6. aliciamaud74 permalink
    01/20/2011 1:37 pm

    I love these! I usually tend to like a slightly slimmer barrel, but these feel great in my hand. And the ink is nice and crisp, with no skipping. I like the green, in particular, but I also love the blue ring on the black barrel…it just looks sharp to me. And I’m happy about having fewer bumps and ridges…I hate when I carry pens in my purse or school bag and those get lint or crumbs stuck in them. It makes them seem like they have no purpose except to make the pen look grimy in short order.

    I’m curious about how well they will last…I’m really happy with them so far…and I found them pretty cheap online, too, which is a bonus.

  7. 01/22/2011 9:56 pm

    I’m curious about how well they will last…I’m really happy with them so far…and I found them pretty cheap online, too, which is a bonus.

    The first casualty has occurred. I’m sad to report, that the purple one exploded in the plastic baggie I carried around in my purse :( I don’t know what happen, but I’m so grateful for the baggie.

  8. aliciamaud74 permalink
    01/31/2011 4:14 pm

    Oh no! Must get baggies…am carrying a new purse and several Sharpies…sounds like I’m playing with fire!

Trackbacks

  1. Fresh or Tired: Sharpie® Pen RT « Does This Pen Write?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

