Skip to content

Sharpie Stainless Steel Pen!!!

01/23/2012

Office Supply Geek and Pen Addict have weighed in on the new SHARPIE STAINLESS STEEL PEN and wow, it’s a thing of beauty. Despite currently carrying on a renewed love affair with my Lamy pens, the Stainless Steel Sharpie Pen has been able to command my full attention. (Shiny things tend to do that) You know a pen is made of awesome when I’m willing to head out to a store 20 minutes before they close IN A SNOWSTORM to obtain one!

Here’s a close up of both the Original Sharpie Stainless Steel Marker and the new Stainless Steel pen. As noted in other reviews, the logo is painted rather than etched into the pen. I haven’t yet decided how I feel about this downgrade. Though if I’m characterizing it as a “downgrade” it’s probably leaning towards thumbs down.

The barrel design is virtually identical to the previous incarnation so what’s most exciting – besides the amazing shininess – is the fact the pen is now sustainable. That’s right, once they stock the refills, you won’t ever have to buy another Sharpie pen in this model AGAIN. That’s a big deal for someone like me, who while not always being the most shining example of sustainability, I am also not a fan of pens that can’t be refilled/hacked/reused. It frustrates me so much to have a perfectly good pen barrel that has to be tossed out because there’s no way to refill it, especially if it’s not able to be recycled.

Similar to the Stainless Steel Marker, the pen unscrews in the middle to release the cartridge. I guess this whole thing gets tossed when it’s spent. Given how punishing I can be on a nib, that’s probably a very good thing. Babby would not let me hack an older pen grip to see if I could DIY my own cartridge. And after coming to my senses, I realize this was very good of him. Actually, my chief complaint about this pen is the damn cap does not stay affixed to the top of the barrel. It kind of wobbles back and forth if you’re going at a steady click the way I tend to write. It seems more annoying that it doesn’t actually fall off, but merely looks like it might. And with my often less than dainty way of securing caps to the top of the barrel I’m liable to damage the thing if I don’t just set it aside until I’m done writing.

Some gratuitous nib pr0n. Nothing else to say about this shot.

I didn’t observe any notable difference in writing performance – aside from the stainless steel material feeling more substantial in my hand – between the new stainless steel pen and the previous model. That said, I still prefer it to the original model because of the uncluttered look of the barrel, the shininess and of course, the fact I can refill it. And at $6 it’s a lot of writing fabulosity at a rock bottom price!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/23/2012 10:46 pm

    Ooh shiiiiiiny! I’m always glad to see some affordable quality pens on the market. Thanks for the fun review!

  2. 01/24/2012 8:43 am

    I want one bad. BIG QUESTION:

    Do they make it in their: “BLUE”? The blue on the 1.0 version was AWESOME. It is a medium blue, that doesnt look navy. I really love it because it stands out from other blues.

    I living in Alaska and found the black version at about $9, but not the blue.

  3. 01/24/2012 2:36 pm

    I haven’t heard any noises about blue, but hopefully it’s coming down the pike. And OUCH on the $9 b/c that seems a bit spendy for this model. I really like the blue ink too. It’s vivid and well pigmented. So many blue inks are ashy and undesirable.

Trackbacks

  1. Monday Morning Review Round-up « European Paper Company

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

