Skip to content

BRANCH PENCILS

05/21/2013

branch pencils

While there are quite a few companies marketing branch pencils, this set of 8 is the brainchild of eco-lifestyle expert Danny Seo, whose blog is filled with eco-friendly crafts and green living tips. I’m not one for nature or the outdoors. I don’t mind appreciating it from the safe, climate controlled confines of a tour bus or someone’s instagram feed.

042

Branch pencils are probably as much nature as I can stand. When I spied these at a discount retailer I was intrigued by their attractive packaging and the concept. Lead infused tree branches are probably exactly what old timey settlers and crunchy tree huggers used to draft their grocery lists and personal correspondence.

branch pencils three

The pencils are housed in a nifty wooden box, whose top I immediately repurposed for my index card stash. Each pencil has a unique shape, which I totally found charming. That said, the pencils in the set that curved too much I found difficult to actually use. While the pencils present endless attractive, rustic decor possibilities, the writing performance and experience might leave some people feeling frustrated.

111

Personally, I noticed writing with these pencils for more than a couple of minutes resulted in some of the branchy goodness to crumble onto my hands. Handling the pencils can also result in a crumbly mess all over your hands. Some people might not find that annoying, but I did. It was an unpleasant tactile experience causing me to consider wearing gloves when using them.

115

Okay, I did mention I’m not super into nature type things! The pencils are approximately 7″ and the barrel is significantly thicker than the average pencil. Even a shade thicker than children’s “my first pencils”.

branch pencils writing sample

The other curious thing I discovered was the graphite does not extend the entirety of the pencils, despite the top of the pencil giving the appearance the graphite goes all the way up. And, of course, let’s not even mention the whittling? Are you into whittling? Well, if you’d like to sharpen these pencils you better get into whittling. Fortunately, my partner has graciously agreed to whittle my points if the need should ever arise.

The Deets:
cute, rustic pencils make a perfect gift for a writer or artist
eco-goodness at an attractive price point: the set 8 of runs about $6.99
a little, crumbly and at times messy to use
not much graphite housed in the twig body
probably need to up your whittle game unless you want to completely destroy these pencils. (Trust me. I did the legwork)
writing performance decent but not amazing.

Well there’s not a literal connection…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/21/2013 8:04 pm

    So… are you suggesting that my fun-to-tamarind ratio might vary?

  2. 05/22/2013 2:46 am

    Interesting… I would love to see a video of someone sharpening – I mean whittling! – these pencils! They’re a neat concept though. I suppose not entirely practical…

  3. 06/25/2013 3:32 pm

    Oh gosh. I fall of the face of the internet reading planet. Then I tell some office supply loving friends, hey, do you read Does This Pen Write? Then I come back here and check in because it has been a while. And then this glorious post is here. And it is why I, a not-office supply loving person, love to read these posts.

    “Branch pencils are probably as much nature as I can stand. When I spied these at a discount retailer I was intrigued by their attractive packaging and the concept. Lead infused tree branches are probably exactly what old timey settlers and crunchy tree huggers used to draft their grocery lists and personal correspondence. ”

    ALdlasjhfalwkjefhweqlkjhfwl!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

