Skip to content

Pen Review: Sharpie Pen Grip

11/21/2009

I borrowed this pen at a friend’s house to write a shopping list. I carry around enough pens to stock a fifth grade classroom, so my reasoning was pretty shaky. As the Sharpie Pen Grip moved across the page I thought I might have finally found a worthy replacement for my much cherished RoseArt/Mega SRX770. While ink is similar to the Sharpie Retractable, (again, I’m not an ink expert) the feel of the pen is infinitely more satisfying.

The barrel feels solid and provides many hours of comfortable writing. I tend to grip like a vice and many lesser pens do not live out long lives with me. I wrote in my journal while watching an entire disc of Law & Order: CI and my hand didn’t cramp once. This is pretty spectacular because I often have to swap pens on long writing binges to avoid this fate.

Office Supply Geek has a stellar review of this pen for those looking for a more nuanced assessment. I found the review thorough; identifying and responding to the concerns I had about trying yet another version of the Sharpie pen.

Seems like Sharpie has really stepped up the game and taken the best possible elements of earlier versions and I’m happy to report this is a FANTASTIC addition to my collection.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    12/07/2009 1:48 pm

    Where do you find these pens? I want to try them, but so far none of my local office supply retailers have them.

  2. 12/07/2009 1:56 pm

    I think the best bet is search online. I haven’t seen them in my local stores, but then I live in a fairly rural location and they tend to be very behind on the latest office supplies.

  3. Rory permalink
    01/24/2010 6:10 am

    Picked up a set of these the other day and am very pleased with their performance. The other two versions almost got it right. The RT really had something special, except the ink ran out too fast and the rubber grip was a bit intrusive. Still undecided about this version. It’s too light. I was expecting something weightier and looks rather cheap. In my line of work definitely judged by your choice of writing instrument. Can already tell these pens won’t be accompanying me to work any time soon.

  4. 01/24/2010 6:17 am

    @Rory – I agree with you completely. I was expecting something a bit more flashy. To be sure, this is a vast improvement, but I do think they could have at least made them as substantial as regular Sharpie markers.

  5. Queenie permalink
    02/24/2011 9:51 pm

    Absolutely gorgeous pictures. I still haven’t tried this pen, but the picture is tempting me. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Sharpie Family Values « Does This Pen Write?
  2. In Case You Missed It #1 « Does This Pen Write?
  3. Staples® DuraPoint Extra Fine Tip Pens « Does This Pen Write?

Leave a Reply

