Skip to content

Tools of the Trade: Tiny Notebooks

12/18/2009

I love tiny notebooks (sung to the tune of “Tiny Bubbles”) and carry them with me everywhere. Most of them start off as story idea books, but usually end up being a general catch-all for appointments, grocery lists and sometimes impromptu journals. It is not at all surprising to find both a standard size notebook and a tiny notebook – or several – in my bag at the same time.

I’m totally addicted to notebooks and have no other justification.

The wonderful Karen at Exaclair was so kind to send me a gorgeous tiny red Clairefontaine notebook. Sweet, boneless Athena. I quickly took this snap before filling this wonderful notebook with story ideas, supply lists and current objects of lust (first item, ANOTHER tiny Clairefontaine notebook). Like most higher end products, there is a split second where the pen hovers above the page while my brain chants the first thing has to be completely worthy of this paper. It rarely is. I believe I wrote:

Oh my god, this paper is so blanking amazing. I am using the SRX770 grip. I hope it’s the right choice

What I like most is how the Clairefontaine tiny notebook retains all of the exquisite properties of the larger version, like staying flat while open and possessing crisp, smooth pages. It took me less than three days to fill the notebook. Given my notebook addiction and tendency to flirt with many tiny notebooks at one time, while remaining noncommittal, this is a pretty big deal.

I am quite picky about notebooks – not snobby – yet couldn’t cite a set of qualities a chosen notebook must possess. It’s a nebulous fe

eling thing. Yet, when pressed for a non dodgy answer this notebook is an excellent example of what I desire in a tiny notebook.

Ironically, tiny notebooks are something often gifted to me, and rarely something I purchase myself. This was one of the first ones where I didn’t feel as though I was “making do”. As a result they are often far too “precious” – a quality I do not actively seek in notebooks. This little red one is glorious because it’s cute (not precious) and feels like something I already own and would purchase for myself.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Charlie permalink
    12/18/2009 5:39 pm

    “Oh my god, this paper is so blanking amazing. I am using the SRX770 grip. I hope it’s the right choice”

    Love this so much!

  2. evmaroon permalink
    12/18/2009 5:52 pm

    Ooh, that notebook looks fantastic! I too, often have a regular-sized notebook and a small one in my briefcase at the same time. And ever since Stuff White People Like ran that blog entry on Moleskines, I’ve felt a wee embarassed about having one on hand. I make sure never to put it on top of my Mac PowerBook.

  3. redlami permalink
    12/18/2009 7:54 pm

    I used to share your tiny notebook fetish, but now I’m totally addicted to 4×6 lined “legal” pads which I keep in a mini-portfolio that was a grab bag gift at a tech conference I attended five years ago.

    The folio’s got pockets for stamps, business cards (mine and those I accumulate) and a little flap into which I can tuck assorted envelopes and receipts. And it holds a pen, not that I ever have a lack of those in my murse, but at least I can always get my hands on this one.

    The best part is that I never have to say goodbye to this loyal traveling companion.

  4. Mike permalink
    12/20/2009 3:16 am

    I use a “tiny notebook” (Thanks for putting Don Ho in my head.) similar to yours. It’s black and I purchase them at the university bookstore.

  5. Charlie permalink
    12/20/2009 11:27 pm

    I guess Moleskines are a little trendy. Does the same go for Field Notes as well?

  6. 12/21/2009 12:04 pm

    Charlie – Ha! I’m glad I can make you laugh even when I’m not dishing Hugo Drax.

    Ev –

    And ever since Stuff White People Like ran that blog entry on Moleskines, I’ve felt a wee embarassed about having one on hand. I make sure never to put it on top of my Mac PowerBook.

    Seriously, why aren’t we like e-work shopping/venting about writing. We seem to be fellow travelers 😉

    Mike – Do you have a specific brand preference?

    Redlami – Your murse could give my beast of burden bags a run for their money.

Trackbacks

  1. Does This Pen Write is on Hiatus « Does This Pen Write?
  2. Planning Cheek to Cheek « Does This Pen Write?

Leave a Reply

