Skip to content

A Second Look

12/21/2009

Here are a few pens that didn’t initially thrill me, but are now taking center stage.

1. Alvin Penstix 0.7mm – I can’t remember where I picked this up, but I do remember not particularly liking how busy the barrel was. It’s weird reason to dismiss an otherwise serviceable pen, but there you go. Anyway, I don’t like this as much as my Faber-Castell Pitt Artist Pen, but it does scratch a similar itch. The ink is really dark and fabulous; it makes a sharp line and it doesn’t smear if I accidentally touch the paper. I am slowly falling in like with this pen.

2. Zig Millennium Writer 05 Pink – Normally I shun pink ink due to its tendency to be unreadable. Last night I used this pen while journaling (watched Modern Marvel ep on The Autobahn) and found it quite lovely. It was dark and looked wonderful on the page. I suspect the 05 is the best nib size for my handwriting, the speed in which I write and the way I hold pens. Anything smaller and it comes out too scratchy. I also realized the key with using these pens is to hold the nib straight down, rather than approach the page at an angle like I often do with ballpoint or gel pens. I know a lot about pens as it relates to products and such, but I don’t actually know much about proper technique. So changing the angle of the nib as it hits the page was a pretty big breakthrough for me. How sad is that?

3. Post-It Flag Permanent Marker – I got these ridiculously cheap as some kind of lost leader to get me to purchase some other product. I was a little wary because the label “permanent marker” tends to conjure up images of bleed through and fume induced migraines. So for they’ve stayed sealed in their blister packaging, while their cousins got all the attention. After having great luck with another permanent marker, I decided to crack open these bad boys. I really like this pen! It doesn’t have an intrusive fume-y smell and it doesn’t bleed through the paper. It’s a great alternative to the gel version and I actually like the gray barrel.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. redlami permalink
    12/21/2009 2:21 pm

    I think having to look down at a too-busy barrel could be pretty distracting while writing.

  2. Mike permalink
    12/22/2009 6:58 pm

    I really like the Post-It permenant marker. I have not used the others.

  3. Sweater Weather permalink
    12/22/2009 7:04 pm

    I use Zigs most of the time. I like the roller ball pens they make. They’re great for sketching.

Leave a Reply

