Skip to content

Home Office at the End of the World

01/08/2010

In a previous post I lusted after various home office designs and tried to incorporate them into my own home office.

My issue isn’t space, but I’m having troubles configuring an arrangement that incorporates everything I need to utilize the space. So far I figure I need a writing desk, a work space (oversize desk/table) for projects, a computer cart on casters, shelving/bookcases, a couch/day bed type thing and a few peripherals.

The computer cart is key as I use my computer as a TV/DVD so it needs to be able to move from room to room without having to negotiate wires or components.

So far I am liking this Mikael computer cart from Ikea.

And thinking about pushing two of these together to make a large square workspace.

and probably using another one with a longer table top as a writing desk. I am a bit of a table enthusiast, so I am going to need to restrain myself a bit.

Also supply storage is a bit of a pain as I haven’t found a system that works with my style of usage. Just putting like items together and then organizing those groupings hasn’t worked well for and as a result I find that I have lots of redundancy but still lack essential office products. The challenge comes because I need to see items I’m using, but I abhor clutter. Clear storage containers are wonderful, so I’m hoping to force myself to use them again.

What does your home office space look like? How do you arrange your stuffs to ensure maximum productivity?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Charlie permalink
    01/08/2010 8:35 pm

    Hello. The best table top/workspace I have seen is a fire door sat on two trestle legs. Good size and cheap. Might need to prep the surface of course, but would save money on a shop table. You also wouldn’t have the legs get in the if you put two other tables together.

    Storage wise, I have been getting excited over Really Useful boxes: http://www.reallyusefulproducts.co.uk/usa/
    But might not fit in with your needs of course.

  2. 01/09/2010 3:49 pm

    Charlie – I have two sliding closet doors (wood) that measure about 24 x 72 and apparently are prime candidates for some repurposing. My friend test drove one and I am thinking about getting some ikea bookcase leg thingies and painting out the wood and ta dah I’ll have a new work surface.

    I love really useful boxes. I am going to find a way to incorporate some of the items they have with my existing storage items.

  3. Charlie permalink
    01/09/2010 9:31 pm

    Excellent. Will we get pictures when you’re done? Is that your current set up pictured?

  4. 01/09/2010 9:37 pm

    Yes, that’s the home office (off the kitchen and in the dining room) as it looks today. I’m definitely going to post pictures of the process. Hopefully, by Feb 1, I’ll have the thing set up or at least have abandoned the fantasy all together.

  5. Charlie permalink
    01/09/2010 10:55 pm

    I think I now recognise it from before, in a post you did a while back on your big tidy ups.

  6. 01/13/2010 3:07 pm

    Yeah! It looks totally different without all that crap and clutter.

  7. Sweater Weather permalink
    01/15/2010 4:29 am

    Is your office in the dining room? Where’s your dining room table? Or do you just eat your meals at the counter?

  8. 01/24/2010 6:38 am

    @ Sweater Weather – yeah, don’t have a dining room table and mostly eat meals at the counter or at my coffee table in the living room. We’re casual around the death star.

Trackbacks

  1. Home Office at the End of the World: Revenge of the Fallen « Does This Pen Write?
  2. Home Office at the End of the World: The Year We Make Contact « Does This Pen Write?
  3. Does This Pen Write is on Hiatus « Does This Pen Write?
  4. Home Office at the End of the World: The Voyage Home « Does This Pen Write?
  5. Dig We Must (Part I) « Does This Pen Write?

Leave a Reply

