Skip to content

Pen Review: Prismacolor Fine Line Marker

01/12/2010

A friend of mine passed along his set of Prismacolor Fine Line Markers, which was a pretty cool score as I have been meaning to test drive this pen.

The first thing I noted was the sleek, slim barrel. While normally being a fan of a chunkier barrel, I really liked the feel of this pen in my hand. I tend toward thicker pens because I fear writing fatigue and cramping. I used this pen for nearly a half hour while watching the truly craptastic US Marshals and my hand felt fine.

I haven’t used Prismacolor markers in nearly a decade, and only then it was the double sided markers. I abandoned those rather quickly since they bled through the page and emitted a strong odor.

The Fine Line marker does neither. It creates a crisp, dark line without pooling on the page, a feature important to me as I tend to hesitate while writing. It also has no smell. Yay!

The only draw back to the pen was the cap wouldn’t stay affixed to the barrel. And in that way it reminds me of Penstix, which is a pen I could learn to love if only the cap would stay in place while I wrote. It’s a minor quibble for some, but it’s kind of a deal for me. I do not like getting poked with the business end of a marker nor spending ten minutes rubbing ink off my skin.

All in all I could see myself using this pen until it runs out, but probably wouldn’t seek them out. While tempting, they aren’t remarkable enough to seduce me away from my Faber-Castell Pitt Artist pens, which are pretty much my gold standard in this category.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. redlami permalink
    01/12/2010 1:45 pm

    One reason I tend toward clicky pens is because I’ve been that nerd… the one with the ink stain on his shirt or pants pocket where an uncapped pen emptied its bowels.

    If I do use a capped pen, it’s nearly as important to me that the cap quickly and easily affix to the storage end, and that it stay put while I write, as I otherwise tend to lose the caps.

  2. Sweater Weather permalink
    01/15/2010 4:25 am

    Used this pen once and it leaked all over my middle finger. Never much cared for prismacolor products.

  3. Shalayla permalink
    01/19/2010 12:32 am

    I am glad to have found this fun take on office supplies.

Leave a Reply

