Skip to content

Maped Freewriter Ball Pen

01/17/2010

For Christmas my partner graciously gifted me a set of Maped Freewriter Ball Pens and I was pretty impressed with them. I had never heard of these pens or seen the before. I’m always excited to be introduced to new pens, even if they end up being duds or unremarkable in some way. Maped Freewriters are actually quite amazing.

The barrel is attractive and well designed. I loved the use of contrasting shades of blue on the barrel. The grip is sturdy rubber thus ensuring a fatigue-free writing experience. The ink is a nice medium blue, which generally I don’t particularly like, but in this case I’ll make an exception because the pen is so dang fun to write with.

As I mentioned this came as part of a set, which included a red pen (I’ll probably never use) and a black pen. The red pen veered too close to orange for my tastes. The black pen was quite dreamy, but similar enough in ink performance to a number of other pens I own not to compel me spend much time with it. In this case, the blue pen was the true show stopper.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/17/2010 3:47 pm

    I was excited to have stumbled across these. Now the big question: can they be hacked?

  2. Adrian permalink
    01/21/2010 6:50 pm

    Your handwriting is bubbly today! Maped Freewriters put down a really smooth line.

  3. Mike permalink
    01/21/2010 6:52 pm

    Nice pens! I have never heard of these. I might have to check them out.

  4. Trixie permalink
    05/25/2010 9:01 pm

    Found them on Amazon – the product description is this:

    “The Maped Freewriter is the first line of school writing instruments designed especially for children. The Freewriter is a free rider – guaranteeing comfort and glide with every use. The Freewriter .7 mm Gel Pen combines stylish design with a comfortable grip. With this 3-pack assortment of black, red, and blue, you can express yourself freely and look great while doing it with the Maped Freewriter Gel Pen. For over 60 years Maped has been creating innovative, high-quality products and renewing the often traditional school and office accessories markets with an assortment of ergonomic and eye-catching products tailored to the needs of the consumer. Maped is an expert in providing attractive school products made for easy learning to over 125 countries all over the world ”

    That would explain why we haven’t heard of these pens! I’m so getting some….

Trackbacks

  1. The Bluest Ink « Does This Pen Write?

Leave a Reply

