Skip to content

Home Depot Carpenter Pencils

01/18/2010

For someone who eyeballs her shelves – despite owning a level – and has no real desire to build anything, I spend an awful lot of time at Home Depot. Though I should admit, the store mostly feeds my I’m-too-cheap-for-costco-membership-but-I-still-want-to-buy-48-rolls-of-tp-at-once need and as has helped me with a few home improvement projects.

I don’t really use pencils much; once I could use pens in elementary school I never looked back. However, who can turn away from $0.11 bright orange carpenter pencils. And inspired by this post on the topic I decided to road test my own.

As I’ve previously mentioned I am not an artist, but I don’t think you need to be one to appreciate the carpenter pencil’s most useful feature – its shape.

I have never been on a roof in any construction capacity, but I suspect it’s probably a good idea not having to chase down a roll away pencil. Yay for engineering.

The shape also had the surprising side effect of providing a good twenty minutes of writing entertainment. If I use pencils at all, which I already mentioned is quite rare, I opt for those cute oversize pencils found in the kiddie craft section.

The Big Orange’s variety of carpenter pencil is great for craftspeople and such and perhaps a sketch or two here or there, but it’s definitely not artistic quality. Also, even though it comes with a sharpener, I’m sure a knife works better. I don’t really trust myself not to whittle the pencil down to $0.11 worth of nothing, so I stick with the sharpener.

You wouldn’t think an orange pencil would need accessories as the bright orange really makes plenty of a statement by itself, but …

I found a blingy holder, which reminded me of – both in shape and general shininess – of the sadistic ice cave dweller Box from Logan’s Run.

I have started using these pencils for sketching out things in my journal, writing quick lists and oddly enough for marking drill holes. I still don’t think I’m going to become a pencil person. That said these pencils definitely lifted me out of my winter drearies and for $0.11 a pop that’s cheaper than anti-depressants.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/18/2010 11:54 pm

    Thanks for another fun and informative review. I use pencils a lot, and while I like the idea of non-rollaway ones I find these just too difficult to sharpen, and too chunky to fit in a standard electric sharpener. And I’m totally klutzy so I’ll pass on the knife. I have to admit that holder is very enticing though.

    One question: does the wide lead make the point last longer, or about the same?

  2. dred miles permalink
    01/19/2010 12:29 am

    thoes pens look pretty cool. don’t have use for them myself, but still cool looking.

  3. Shalayla permalink
    01/19/2010 12:30 am

    Only you would buy writing instruments at a building supply store! 🙂

  4. Tash permalink
    01/19/2010 12:38 am

    Box!

  5. Adrian permalink
    01/21/2010 6:49 pm

    These pictures are total pencil pr0n. I actually use Faber-Castell carpenter pencils and they are fairly expensive when compared to these. I wonder how good these actually are for artists.

  6. Pollo con queso permalink
    01/22/2010 8:00 am

    DTPW, you are a goddess. Anyone who makes Rollerball and Logan’s Run references while reviewing office products is muy excellente in my book. Cheers!

  7. Craftygrrrl permalink
    01/23/2010 7:45 pm

    My husband uses these. Ha. I’ll tell him they are Does This Pen Write approved.

  8. 01/24/2010 6:27 am

    @Pollo con queso – thanks. I’m glad to finally have your approval.

    @Craftygrrrl – Awesome. Glad to hear it. My partner and I were half joking about making a little icon, which denotes DTPW’s seal of approval.

Trackbacks

  1. In Case You Missed It #1 « Does This Pen Write?
  2. Liberty for Barnes & Noble Colored Pencils « Does This Pen Write?

Leave a Reply

