Skip to content

Bic Mark-It Permanent Markers

01/20/2010

Every time I go into a big box office supply store I spy a display for Bic Mark It Permanent Markers. One of the stores I frequent even has a little Mark it self serve bar, which houses both fine and ultra fine markers in what appears to be their best selling colors.

I was already pretty sold on these pens upon realizing they do not possess the usual strong marker odor. But I haven’t been urged to purchase them because I found the price point a bit too much for a product I believe to be of limited use.

While digging through my box of also rans I found one in Tuxedo Black and decided to give it a whirl.

The barrel is nothing special and looks similar to the Bic Roller Grip. But it’s pretty awesome they differentiate between the fine and the ultra by cap color. The fine line cap is the same color as the ink and the ultra fine line is the same color of the barrel.

In terms of writing and ink quality, again nothing special here. A perfectly serviceable marker and I do like the range of colors available for purchase. I also like the idea of making my own sets, thus not being loaded down with orange, yellow or ashy blues/greens.

I found it to bleed through thinner paper, but do okay in my paper journal and on index cards. If I sound less than thrilled about these pens, it’s probably because they just feel a bit boring for my usual tastes, and don’t make up for it in either performance or style.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/20/2010 4:19 pm

    I find I always like the idea of colored permanent markers more than actually using them… I tend to use just black, red and silver (love the Sharpie silver).

  2. 01/21/2010 6:42 pm

    I tend to use them for my for my zines and art journal. I am going to sit on these for a while, because the “buffet bar” approach to purchase is really attractive to me. I think they might meet my needs at best, or at worst a reassessment of my needs may well be in order.

  3. Tash permalink
    01/21/2010 6:46 pm

    Ooh, I like these. Nice review, Snarky’s.

  4. Pollo con queso permalink
    01/22/2010 7:59 am

    I have never used anything but Sharpie permanent markers. These look pretty decent.

  5. Malloy permalink
    01/23/2010 7:43 pm

    I have a cup filled with these in my studio. Normally, I use Copic markers, but for some more casual drawing I like these.

  6. Craftygrrrl permalink
    01/23/2010 7:44 pm

    I love these markers. I always pause by the display whenever I go to Staples. It’s a lot of fun curating my own sets.

Leave a Reply

