Skip to content

Office Depot® Standard Composition Book

01/21/2010

I love composition notebooks and tend to stock up during the school supply season. I use them for project notebooks and story ideas. While I am often drawn to the flashier covers, I usually end up getting the less blingy versions. The pages are well secured to the cover, giving the notebook the fancier feel.

Office Depot brand has becoming one of my favorite composition notebooks. I like the brightness of the paper and the sharp ruled pages. The plain cover feels surprisingly stylish and sturdy, providing a nice support for scribbling away if you should find yourself without a desk handy.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike permalink
    01/22/2010 6:43 am

    Heh. These are so ugly they are almost cute.

  2. Jace permalink
    01/22/2010 6:44 am

    I always find these in the clearance section of Office Depot ridiculously cheap. Maybe I’ll pick up a few next time I’m there.

    Great blog, btw.

  3. Pollo con queso permalink
    01/22/2010 6:46 am

    Man, these are awful looking. C’mon DTPW? I am all for inexpensive, but these aren’t even the best looking of the cheap comp notebooks.

    I just expected better. ::huffs:: 🙂

  4. Sweater Weather permalink
    01/22/2010 6:48 am

    Yeah, I’m voting with Mike and PcQ. These are hardly worth the bandwidth. Even your brilliant and witty writing can’t save these. At least the review was short!

  5. 01/22/2010 6:51 am

    Sorry guys! I promise no more fugly and utterly forgettable products. I can’t hit home runs everyday. Thanks for the feedback, you ungrateful bastards! 😉

  6. Sweater Weather permalink
    01/22/2010 6:54 am

    It’s okay. We still wub you, Snarky’s!

  7. 01/22/2010 7:46 am

    Is it terrible that these comments made me LOL? Believe me I rarely acronym!

  8. Adrian permalink
    01/22/2010 7:48 am

    I’m with the others. Snarky’s, baby, you can’t put turd on bread and tell me it’s a sandwich!

  9. Pollo con queso permalink
    01/22/2010 7:50 am

    I started a revolution! And it’s fine with me if you laughed. C’mon, even you realize this entry was kind of weak. Especially after the great “Open Letter to a Pen Thief”.

  10. Adrian permalink
    01/22/2010 7:54 am

    Where’s Redlami? Was he too polite to leave a comment?

  11. 01/22/2010 7:57 am

    @Adrian – he claims to be sick. Maybe he was just sick of this craptastic entry. There I said it. It was the last of the weekly batch and clearly demonstrates I lost the mojo by the time I got to this one. It’s like the dinky cupcake made with the scrapings of the bowl.

  12. Pollo con queso permalink
    01/22/2010 7:58 am

    Uh, you mean crapcake 😉

  13. 01/22/2010 8:24 am

    Y’all are like those bitchy old muppets who sit in the balcony!

  14. 01/22/2010 1:34 pm

    ::cough:: ::cough:: ::wheeze::

    Rising from sickbed (well, sickdesk) to comment…

    I was very happy to learn that with these notebooks, the pages are well secured to the cover. And I like the retro feel of places for “Name” and “Grade.” I think I’ll buy some of these next August just for nostalgia’s sake.

  15. 01/22/2010 3:51 pm

    I dunno… I like these and I am a huge notebook/sketchbook/pocket note snob. Yes, I have piles of Rhodias, Moleskines, Quattros, and Field Notes, but these have a real blank canvas appeal. Wanna lovingly recreate the cover of Ride the Lightning or The Velvet Underground and Nico on your composition book? Well you can with these. I’m gonna buy some of these mofos soon.

  16. 01/22/2010 9:22 pm

    what you can’t see is the prepared comment and the spork I’m using to influence Redlami.

  17. Jace permalink
    01/23/2010 7:40 pm

    On second thought, maybe I’ll leave these comp books in the store.

  18. Say Yes permalink
    01/24/2010 3:14 am

    These comments are cracking me up!

  19. Jamie permalink
    01/24/2010 3:20 am

    I used some of these when I took a creative writing course at through a community library. I guess or experiences are different, DTPW, because mine weren’t as fond as yours.

  20. lucy permalink
    08/31/2010 6:37 pm

    I don’t know snarkys. I actually like this notebook. I don’t want my notebook to be flashy. That’s what it has me for.

Trackbacks

  1. Does This Pen Write is on Hiatus « Does This Pen Write?
  2. Composition Notebooks « Does This Pen Write?

Leave a Reply

