Skip to content

Tools of the Trade: Highlighters

01/25/2010

I am not a highlighter junkie, though I understand the pathology. I once had a coworker who was addicted to purchasing highlighters for an organization with very little to highlight. She had quite the impressive personal collection and we often traded our cast offs. Her with highlighters and me with scratchy rollerball pens.

Having almost no understanding as to what separates the good, the bad and the streaky, I will instead post my writing sample and let you decide.

With exception of the Kmart pens and the Post-It Flag Highlighters the rest are cast offs from the above mentioned former coworker. I used a Pilot Precise V7 and an Oxford 4 x 6 blank index card.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/25/2010 2:02 pm

    Am I the only person who gets a little nervous at the thought of covering text via an instrument named “Sharpie?” I’m sorry, but I still think of Sharpies as what you use to black out the price on the jacket of a book you’re giving as a gift.

    I still occasionally use highlighters — particularly when proofreading reports, which for some reason I do better with hardcopy — and I get really annoyed when they streak the ink beneath them (the post-it yellow in your sample seems to have that problem).

    As for color, I still prefer old fashioned radioactive yellow because I find anything else too dark, especially if I have to photocopy (which admittedly is rare).

  2. 01/25/2010 11:40 pm

    From what I have been told, based on examination of my writing sample, the 2nd gen Post-it highlighter in pink and the no name Kmart pens are the front runners. Which is so shocking! Sharpie does a great liquid highlighter, which I do not own.

    Oh the humanity.

  3. Popi permalink
    01/25/2010 11:44 pm

    Dude, do you take requests? if so I would love if you could review those kmart no name pens. They look interesting and I couldn’t find a review for them in the archives.

  4. Marcus permalink
    01/25/2010 11:45 pm

    I like Tul Desk Style Highlighters. I use them to grade papers and they do not smear ink.

  5. Val permalink
    01/25/2010 11:46 pm

    Another great entry, Does This Pen Write. Love the colorful picturs.

  6. Crissy permalink
    01/25/2010 11:47 pm

    I only use pink highlighters. Where did you find the top one? It’s perfect.

  7. Mike permalink
    01/25/2010 11:48 pm

    Your coworker sounds like our receptionist. She is very particular about the kind of highlighter she uses. She also doesn’t let anyone into the supply stash.

  8. Pollo con queso permalink
    01/25/2010 11:49 pm

    I love the Sharpie Accent RTs. I keep buying sets of them, despite not actually being an office supply addict.

  9. Sweater Weather permalink
    01/25/2010 11:51 pm

    I love how you always make me reconsider office products I already own but wasn’t that thrilled about. I have a couple of Sharpie Accents in my desk drawer at work and never really use them. I definitely going to give them ta try.

  10. 01/26/2010 1:55 am

    The pink post-it highlighter pen is the Breast Cancer Awareness version, purchased at Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Breast-Awareness-Highlighter-MMM689PH2BCA-Category/dp/B001E03N2M

    As of this comment, they have two left!

  11. Ellie permalink
    01/26/2010 1:57 am

    well see ebiznus.com/ for this I hope this will be resolving your problem. It helped me too resolving it.

  12. Ellie permalink
    01/26/2010 1:58 am

    I know of just the right thing that could help you Detox. And the best of all its completely free just pay Shipping! See how fast it works. The easiest way to loose weight!
    Check it out at
    dervin.topoffers.us/entertflyhesykheopsktpshainment/Colon-Cleanse-Pro-Offer

  13. 01/26/2010 2:03 am

    Thanks, Ellie. As always, ace imput.

  14. 01/26/2010 2:06 am

    Wow, colon cleansing as entertainment… this is new hotness!

  15. 01/26/2010 2:07 am

    Totally new hotness!

Leave a Reply

