Skip to content

Mark It, Dude: TUL Ultra Fine Point Permanent Markers

01/26/2010

I really like Office Max TUL products, particularly their markers. While I haven’t made the ultimate commitment by investing a set, I am moving in that direction after carrying on an affair with the black marker.

The barrel is aesthetically pleasing; substantial, but not too bulky. I also dig on loop on the cap, which fires another shot across the bow at pen thieves everywhere. Clip this bad boy to a lanyard or a hungry alligator and you’re gonna let folks know you mean business.

Now this pen does possess a mild odor when you initially uncap it. It’s noticeable, but nowhere near as offensive as Sharpie markers. The bleed through is minimal and the paper really has to be quite thin and cheap – like loose leaf paper. But who really does anything with any conviction on notebook paper? Well, you know, over the age of ten.

Like the Bic Mark-It, one of the great things is the ability to purchase these markers individually. It takes a really impressive pen – these most certainly are – to get me to buy a whole set. Still, regardless of how impressive, it’s unlikely I’m going to go ga ga at the inclusion of filler colors like ashy shades of orange, drab yellow and chalky browns.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Crissy permalink
    01/26/2010 10:10 am

    This review was hilarious and informative. I see these at Office Max and have always wondered if they were any good.

  2. Paula permalink
    01/26/2010 10:12 am

    Hi, new to your blog. What I like about your reviews is you cover products people might actually purchase. Nothing against other bloggers, but honestly, I hardly ever see them review stuff I can find in my local stores.

    Great stuff.

  3. Juice permalink
    01/26/2010 10:13 am

    It takes a really impressive pen – these most certainly are – to get me to buy a whole set. Still, regardless of how impressive, it’s unlikely I’m going to go ga ga at the inclusion of filler colors like ashy shades of orange, drab yellow and chalky browns.

    LMAO! Ugh, I hate those colors too. I must have a whole been of failed attempts at approximating the colors brown, orange and yellow. The only time of the year when you can get great shades is Thanksgiving.

  4. Diandra permalink
    01/26/2010 12:34 pm

    “Clip this bad boy to a lanyard or a hungry alligator and you’re gonna let folks know you mean business.”

    HA. I snarfed. My coworkers are probably wondering what I’m reading.

  5. Mike permalink
    01/26/2010 12:35 pm

    I agree with Paula. I don’t always want a fancy product. I need to know whether teh products I encounter everyday are worth the prices charged by retailers. This is too why I enjoy your reviews so much.

  6. drew permalink
    01/26/2010 12:40 pm

    These markers have a very strong odor. I’m surprised you didn’t observe that. I couldn’t use them at all. Stank up my whole office.

  7. megan permalink
    01/26/2010 12:41 pm

    tul markers are my faves. kick ass reviews here.

  8. concerned citizen permalink
    01/26/2010 12:45 pm

    you smell like bacon and cheese.

  9. 01/26/2010 1:06 pm

    Excellent post, Snarky. You’re throwing rocks tonight!

  10. 01/26/2010 1:30 pm

    woo!

  11. 01/26/2010 3:40 pm

    Me thinks it’s time to mod comments prior to them being displayed. I guess it never occurred to me someone would be so bored as to troll an office supply blog in order to point out the supposed stink of its owner.

  12. 01/26/2010 4:13 pm

    I agree. That comment is highly offensive, especially to lactose-intolerant vegetarians.

  13. 01/28/2010 7:16 am

    drew – for some reason I didn’t notice a strong odor. There’s definitely an initial scent, but compared to the noxious fumes of a Sharpie this was barely worth noting.

    The rest of y’all – thanks for the kind words. Y’all are totally awesome.

Leave a Reply

