Skip to content

Home Office at the End of the World: Revenge of the Fallen

01/29/2010

Pink Domino Desk - Pianca

After assessing the current state of the project it seems unlikely I’ll hit my target of 2/1/2010. There is just too much to do and I’ve been really busy reading, writing, academic stuffs and the occasional acid flashback. Still, I have managed to take precise measurements of the space and have written those measurements down! I am definitely a measure once: cut twice kind of gal, so this is amazing progress in and of itself. I did a thorough cleaning of the room, ridding it of staleness and general remnants of bad juju. I replaced the old blinds with fresh, new ones. I rerolled and bagged the excess scraps from my 2007 remodeling job. I even sorted, labeled and stored lesser used office supply items into bins and stashed them on the closet shelf. This project alone took far too long because I was really into the aesthetics of the arrangement rather than its utility. Concurrently, I’m having thoughts about scrapping the idea in favor of moving the party to the big bedroom and making the little room the bedroom. I am trying to tamp that down. It won’t work. I won’t like it and then there will be two rooms of broken dreams, leaving me sleeping on the couch.

Carmine said there would be one room of broken dreams, yet here there are two.

The big bedroom won’t hunt because of its window issue. It’s a decent enough window in an odd place, which looks out into the parking lot and the view is just not that inspiring. As much as I love my car – and I do love Maryah – this ain’t a HoJo and I don’t need to be staring at her all doing nothing for extended periods of time.

In the meantime, I have set up shop in the living room right in front of the windows with one of the re-purposed closet doors and I don’t hate it. In fact, I’m certain this has contributed to the waning ambition. So it’s me, the desk and a jeff chair and we’re doing okay.

I am going to forever associate this desk area with Postcard from the Edge as it was on in the background when I arranged this temporary (I hope) set up.

Related Reading:

Home Office at the End of the World

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Pollo con queso permalink
    01/29/2010 3:40 am

    Home Office at the End of the World: Revenge of the Fallen

    LOL!

  2. Mike permalink
    01/29/2010 3:42 am

    I am definitely a measure once: cut twice kind of gal

    Me too, Snarky’s Machine, me too. Minus the “gal” part. I am imagining something like Home Improvement here.

  3. Adrian permalink
    01/29/2010 3:43 am

    The big bedroom won’t hunt because of its window issue. It’s a decent enough window in an odd place, which looks out into the parking lot and the view is just not that inspiring. As much as I love my car – and I do love Maryah – this ain’t a HoJo and I don’t need to be staring at her all doing nothing for extended periods of time.

    HA! My dad would always make sure we parked our car right in front of our motel rooms so he could periodically check on it. I can’t believe he would willingly touch those scary curtains.

  4. keely permalink
    01/29/2010 1:47 pm

    Omg Snarky’s, when I saw this title it made me think of how you always gave stuff sequel subtitles. hahaha. nobody is funny like you. i am in tears here.

  5. jane maragret permalink
    01/29/2010 1:51 pm

    late to the party, but gotta say your entries are amazing. seriously. they are hilarious everyday.

  6. ryan permalink
    01/29/2010 1:52 pm

    “measure once: cut twice”

    heh. that sounds familar. prolly should be the title of my memoir. great blog.

  7. taterhee permalink
    01/29/2010 2:02 pm

    Concurrently, I’m having thoughts about scrapping the idea in favor of moving the party to the big bedroom and making the little room the bedroom. I am trying to tamp that down. It won’t work. I won’t like it and then there will be two rooms of broken dreams, leaving me sleeping on the couch.

    HA! That totally sounds like me when I was doing my remodeling project. Oh my godness, every decision was met with a dozen alternate universe choices.

  8. 01/29/2010 2:04 pm

    Everytime you quote the Big Lebowski, an angel gets its wings.

Trackbacks

  1. Home Office at the End of the World: The Year We Make Contact « Does This Pen Write?
  2. Does This Pen Write is on Hiatus « Does This Pen Write?
  3. Home Office at the End of the World: The Voyage Home « Does This Pen Write?
  4. Dig We Must (Part I) « Does This Pen Write?
  5. Home Office at the End of the World: A New Beginning « Does This Pen Write?

Leave a Reply

