Skip to content

Novelty Pens

01/29/2010

A vacation in your pocket...

I might be the only person who gets excited about going to an amusement park or gift shop merely for the possibility of big, useless, poorly performing pens. Generally found in bargain bins, discount party supply stores and on your doctor’s desk, I have such a fondness for those unsung heroes of the pen universe, novelty pens!

Staples BIG Pen
Amish Country Pen
Joann’s Hannah Montana Pen
Vaderlicious Lego Pen
Cat in the Hat Multipen from Party City
Orange Nine Color Multipen from Party City
Michaels Dollar Bin Pen

Usually ballpoint with substandard ashy ink – with the exception of the Vader pen, which is the best performing of the bunch – novelty pens float from owner to owner before eventually retiring to a pencil cup of castoffs on some receptionist’s desk.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/29/2010 2:47 am

    I like the look of that big Staples pen. I’m always on the lookout for a pen with a very thick barrel and grip. So far, my two favorites are the Paper Mate Phd and the Bic XXL. Unfortunately, neither of them are particularly smooth and their lines are typical ballpoint bland, so I’ll have to keep looking.

  2. 01/29/2010 3:25 am

    This line made gave me a serious gigglefit.

    I might be the only person who gets excited about going to an amusement park or gift shop merely for the possibility of big, useless, poorly performing pens.

    And there’s another post, too! Snarky said there would be one post, and here there are two!

  3. sara no h permalink
    01/29/2010 3:32 am

    novelty pens float from owner to owner before eventually retiring to a pencil cup of castoffs on some receptionist’s desk.

    LMFAO.

  4. barbie 2: electric boogaloo permalink
    01/29/2010 3:35 am

    i still have that pen you lifted from dr. a’s receptist. CELEBREX.

  5. megan permalink
    01/29/2010 3:36 am

    pencil cup of castoffs on some receptionist’s desk.

    AHAHAHA. Our receptionist totally has a cup like this on her desk. This was so hilarious.

  6. Moses permalink
    01/29/2010 3:37 am

    This makes me think of Disneyland and you went off on your own for a bit and we thought you’d be on ride and instead you came back with a bag full of pens!

  7. Pollo con queso permalink
    01/29/2010 3:38 am

    Lawdy, you need to quit. My sides are hurting. Look at them ugly ass pens. Not the vader pen. That one is the only nice one!

  8. 01/29/2010 7:49 am

    that dollar bin pen is coooool

  9. ryan permalink
    01/29/2010 1:53 pm

    i dig that amish country pen. usually pens like that have some drug company’s stuff on it, which is why i never use those. this one is great. i support the amish in a way that i would never support big pharma.

  10. Crissy permalink
    01/29/2010 1:54 pm

    I think we should get together, as I have the Jonas Bros pen which came in the same set at the HM pen. I am the key master and you’re probably the gate keeper.

  11. taterhee permalink
    01/29/2010 2:01 pm

    I second what Joy said. I like htat Michael’s pen.

  12. 01/30/2010 1:18 am

    I have actually DESIGNED one of these beauts for the City of Santa Clarita Parks and Recreation department! No joke… I have a few of them left. Message me your addy, and I will send you one.

  13. 01/31/2010 1:32 am

    Oh my god, Spoon. Consider yourself messaged.

  14. Trixie permalink
    02/01/2010 6:32 pm

    I have the same weakness for clever souvenir pens and adorable-yet-flawed designs. I also have an enormous cup of said pens on my desk, just waiting for adoption by other pen goobers.

  15. Soven permalink
    12/26/2012 4:04 am

    i have the large staples pen!! but mine is green 😦

Trackbacks

  1. Pen Review: Spinz Pen « Does This Pen Write?
  2. Does This Pen Write is on Hiatus « Does This Pen Write?
  3. Pretty in Pink: Inc® Alias 1.0 Ballpoint Pen « Does This Pen Write?
  4. Liv Crayola 3-in-1 Pen « Does This Pen Write?
  5. More Novelty Pens « Does This Pen Write?
  6. One Minute Reviews: EXECUTIVE STYLE 4-in-1 Pen « Does This Pen Write?

Leave a Reply

