Skip to content

Home Office at the End of the World: The Year We Make Contact

01/31/2010

creepy monolith, don't fail me now!

Now that the pontificating and the all night Ikea fantasy shopping has moved towards serious action I am feeling inertia bearing down me like a close talker with bad breath.

I’m back to wanting to paint the walls a different color, which means another trip to Home Depot for paint chip groping and Sour Patch Kids. So far I have narrowed the choices to the following:

Walls
Behr’s Sweet Midori
Dulux Chartreuse Green
Benji Moore’s Malachy Green

Initially, I assumed they were dupes for one another. Since I’m trying to stay in the same family as what’s on my accent wall in the room, I brought home nearly twelve yellow green chips and watched in heartbreak as all but three approximated my wishes.

The heartbreak made me reconsider the idea of the spring green theme and maybe going with an appletini version. Similar to my bedroom. But this of course begs the question, why repaint when you already have TWO spaces with your desired color choices… well because they aren’t in THAT room.

Related Posts:

Home Office at the End of the World: Revenge of the Fallen
Home Office at the End of the World

18 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/31/2010 2:19 am

    Aw I liked that living room arrangement. Sadly, it seems the only way to keep furniture in the Death Star from moving is to plop a droid on top of it.

  2. Adrian permalink
    01/31/2010 8:36 pm

    I like the Sweet Midori paint more than the others. I can’t exactly say way. Maybe it has a bit more blueish tint than the others. It seems “sweeter” and probably would work better with graphic elements like black and white.

  3. Mike permalink
    01/31/2010 8:37 pm

    Our rec room is painted something simliar, though I think it’s called “wasabi”.

  4. taterhee permalink
    01/31/2010 8:38 pm

    Your living room is empty! where are you stuff?

  5. Pollo con queso permalink
    01/31/2010 8:40 pm

    I actually like the way those blue chairs pop against the green walls. What’s that mess on your wall?

  6. Jacelyn permalink
    01/31/2010 8:42 pm

    Found you through facebooks. ROTFLMAO!!!

  7. Crissy permalink
    01/31/2010 8:46 pm

    Whoa. you travel very light. I like those blue chairs!!! Where are they from? They look like old office chairs from the 80s. I think my FIL tried to pawn off some nasty brown ones on us when we got married. I’m rethinking them now. Yours have really nice lines. Is the chrome hard to keep shiny?

  8. Pollo con queso permalink
    01/31/2010 8:59 pm

    Whoa. I can’t believe you had all that mess in your house. Shocking. No offense, but it kinda like a thrift store in there.

  9. Jilly permalink
    01/31/2010 9:00 pm

    Aww, I remember your pink walls!!! It was really pretty. Not the color in your bedroom. That was weird, but the salmony color in hall was really cool.

    Wow, you kept the chocolate brown sofa! I was there the day they delivered.

  10. sara no h permalink
    01/31/2010 9:05 pm

    Ooh. That is a fucking amazing transformation. You should totally add it ot the apartment therapy flickr pool.

  11. yet another jane permalink
    01/31/2010 11:32 pm

    Wow. I am floored by your declutting skills. How long did it take you to go from that picture to the current picture.

    Alos, my vote is from “Sweet Midori” btw. We have something simliar in our powder room and I kind of wish we’d done an accent wall elsewhere with it instead.

  12. caleb permalink
    01/31/2010 11:34 pm

    I like chartreuse green the best. It seems like you enjoy using black and white with strong jewel tones as accents. I think the chartreuse will probably be more of what you’re looking for.

    (I mix paint at Lowes and have to talk people out of also rans all the time).

  13. ninna permalink
    01/31/2010 11:35 pm

    I like all three colors, but honestly it’s hard to tell on the computer what the differences are. Can you take pictures of the chips so we can compare?

    Adore your blog and I can’t wait to see the final result of your home office.

  14. craftygrrrl permalink
    01/31/2010 11:37 pm

    Sweet Midori. You can’t go wrong with paint colors named after booze. I have tequilla walls in my bathroom that approximate the color so well I often feel compelled to lick them.

Trackbacks

  1. Does This Pen Write is on Hiatus « Does This Pen Write?
  2. Dig We Must (Part I) « Does This Pen Write?
  3. Home Office at the End of the World: A New Beginning « Does This Pen Write?

Leave a Reply

