Skip to content

Pen Review: Foray® Focus Fine Writing Rollerball Pen

02/11/2010

Last week while in Connecticut, I decided to head over to Office Depot and check out their clearance section. I wasn’t really in the mood for pen shopping as it’s hard to get excited about pens when your office is a wreck and you destroy any happiness you might experience pen fondling with guilt over not doing something more productive. Anyway. Scouring the clearance bins there is usually an exercise in futility. While it’s not nearly as embarrassing as say another big box office supply store (I won’t name) that had the cheek to sell 2009 planners for 1/2 off in Jan of ’10. Like you can do anything with some old ass planner. I mean, yes, you can cannibalize the skin, but even then they need to get real about them prices.

I found the Foray® Focus Fine Writing Rollerball Pen tucked next to a stack of ugly wedding invitations and squealed. Firstly, it’s gorgeous and kind of reminds me of a centipede. The barrel is weighty and smooth. The ink was meh. but the pen is easily hackable.

If you recall my thoughts on rollerball pens, you’ll realize I wasn’t especially excited about this feature of the pen. Still, I was pleasantly surprised by its utter lack of scratchiness. I opted to switch the rollerball ink for a gel ink cartridge and like the way it writes much better.

Oh yeah and the best part: THE DAMN PEN WAS TWO BUCKS. Originally they wanted $29.99 for this bad boy. Yeah, let me know how that worked out for you, Office Depot. While this is totally new hotness, it’s not something I would have spent thirty bucks on. As dazzling as it is – and believe me it’s wonderful – it doesn’t have any of the features I would expect from a pricey fine writing instrument – like cook my bacon without burning it.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/11/2010 5:24 pm

    I didn’t know centipedes shot electric sparks from their (nonexistent) hands. Or morphed into tigers or cobras. Seriously, the centipede barely makes it into the video, first appearing about halfway through, and even there it looks like a cut from some junior high science film.

    Lovely pen, though.

  2. ENThomsen permalink
    02/28/2010 3:03 am

    Thank you for raining on my parade. My experience today was similar to your experience in Connecticut. However, my Foray Focus is a nice matte black and I had to fork out $2.94 for it. Now, I feel ripped off.
    Not really. I am also no fan of rollerballs, but this pen is built like a tank. There has got to be some refill to put in it to make it write as wonderful as it looks and feels. That is my next step. In the meantime, I may have to keep scouring other Office Depot clearance piles, looking for a silver one.
    Great review and thanks for the info. I did not realize this was a $30 pen. Not that I would have paid that, either…

  3. Karen permalink
    11/23/2010 1:31 pm

    I’m curious to know where you got the gel ink cartridge to replace the rollerball? I would absolutely LOVE this pen if I could get a gel in cartridge to put in it.

  4. 11/24/2010 5:56 am

    @Karen, I use staples store brand gel ink cartridges and they have worked fine in the pen. They usually run about $2.99 per package.

  5. 11/30/2010 2:06 pm

    Must. Go. Shopping.

    I really should seek help for this addiction, no? hehe

  6. Karen permalink
    09/27/2011 2:51 pm

    I cannot find these pens anywhere anymore…Where can I get one?

Trackbacks

  1. October’s Daily Arsenal « Does This Pen Write?

Leave a Reply

