Skip to content

A Second Look: Lined Journals

02/23/2010

Aqua, black and pink lined journals from Barnes & Noble

In a previous post entitled Tools of the Trade: Sketchbooks I wrote:

I prefer unlined notebooks. Also my handwriting does not always adhere to the space within the lines, thus lined notebooks tend to feel a bit stodgy to me.

and

I know I already stated my preference for unlined notebooks, but I am a sucker for this one. It’s 5 x 8 and has something like 225 pages. The paper is clean, bright and crisp. I use this for a Hipster PDA so it has to be small enough to fit into my beast of burden handbag. I tend to go through these a bit slower and don’t tend to tire of them as quickly. Since I do love all things related to notebooks, pens and office supplies, I do fear product fatigue. So far this little notebook has persevered in a way fancier planners – of which I have many – have not.

In the latter quote I was referring, of course, to Barnes & Noble’s Basic Black Lined Journal, which also comes in pink and teal

5 x 8 and 7 x 10 versions

Recent career developments have caused me to rethink my “catch-all” project management notebook approach, thus these brightly colored notebooks instantly appealed to me. While others probably would rather NOT cart around several project notebooks, I rather enjoy it. I have started using pink for all things creative in nature – 5×8 for project specific record keeping (payments, supply lists, etc) and the 7×10 for planning, brainstorming and lengthy narratives, which to the untrained eye could easily pass for procrastination. The teal I use for career stuffs, like speaking engagements, grant writing and things in that vein. With the black being personal use/appointments/etc. This best part is I don’t have to use brain power to remember where I wrote something amazing. I don’t know why I didn’t utilize a color coded system before.

I have no idea if this will ultimately be the most useful and efficient system for me, but since I am already very much a fan of the sketchbook variety of these same journals, I’m open to the possibility. If anything, I like their uniform appearance on my shelves.

The bottom line:

• comes in teal, black and pink (teal is harder to find in 5×8, having been to three B&N over the course of a weekend)
• sturdy construction and very nice paper
• 28 lines per page!!!
• 224 pages (5×8),
• decorative ribbon to hold your place and eventually get wicked dirty and nasty
• attractive price point – $4.95 for black or $5.95 for teal or pink (5×8) and $8.95/black or $9.95 for teal/pink (7×10) (10% less if you’re a member)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike permalink
    02/23/2010 7:47 am

    Cool pictures, DTPW!!! Good to see you back.

  2. Crissy permalink
    02/23/2010 7:48 am

    Love the color combo. Wow, these look pretty posh for being so affordable!

  3. Adrian permalink
    02/23/2010 7:50 am

    Really like the looks of these notebooks. I might have to pick up a few these myself. I especially like the teal ones.

  4. 02/23/2010 1:28 pm

    I’m impressed and inspired by your organization and fashion skills.

Trackbacks

  1. Fall Faves… « Does This Pen Write?
  2. Fabulous Last Minute Gifts for Writers (and they’re cheap too!) « Does This Pen Write?

Leave a Reply

