Skip to content

Review: Rose Art “Super Tip” Markers

03/10/2010

Rose Art Washable Markers (30ct)

I spied these Rose Art Washable Markers while debating whether or not to pay fiddy cents more (and be rewarded with ten less markers) for the Crayola Super Tips 20ct cohab-ing in my shopping cart with a box of knockoff Maple and Brown Sugar instant oatmeal.

My love and loyalty to store brands stems from the childhood shopping habits developed while living in Germany. I shopped at the PX and Foodland – a store similar in musical preferences and layout to Rite-Aid – frequently and was pretty much relegated to purchasing the AAFES brand product as they were often the sole option. Plus who wanted to take their chances with a dusty scratch and dent box of Clairol hair color with a picture of a model rocking a beehive?

rocking the new scanner/printer/bacon burner thingie.

While not outright stating it, these markers are a dupe for the Crayola Super Tips in design and performance. Though, honestly, I’m not sure what flights of fancy super tip markers are expected to perform. It is similar to a bullet point nib, or it is when I get through with it.

What I like about these markers is the vivid colors. They are saturated and the ink doesn’t pool on the page if you’re not a user quick on the draw. The only issue I have – and it’s a minor quibble – is the ink colors are not on the barrel. Then again, maybe this is an opportunity for me to have fun OPI-fying the ink colors myself. This would probably result in some clever sounding names, but it’s doubtful I’d get any real work done.

The Bottom Line:

• Comparable to Crayola Super Tips in performance
• Brilliant colors, though no names on the barrel
• Set of 30 costs less than a 20ct set of Crayola Super Tip Markers
• I have no idea what problems “super tips” solve, how they enhance marker performance or what “super tips” mean for you weekend.
• This set will make you about three bucks poorer.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/10/2010 3:29 pm

    I believe colors on the barrels are important. Not just for the deliciousness of the names a la nail polish, and not just for avoiding the awkwardness of coloring with yellow-orange when I meant orange-yellow. Two of my kids are color-blind, and one used to get in trouble with the other kids in his pre-school for not putting the colored pencils back in the right places: green and brown are pretty much indistinguishable to him. So he learned to read the color names.

    The scan is wonderful, it really shows great detail in terms of the performance of the pen. I’m looking forward to more of that in your reviews in the future!

  2. craftygrrrl permalink
    03/10/2010 8:40 pm

    Wow. Great to see you back, DTPW!!!

  3. Adrian permalink
    03/10/2010 8:42 pm

    This was funny and informative. I actually want to get these markers. I like how you put it out there.

    • I have no idea what problems “super tips” solve, how they enhance marker performance or what “super tips” mean for you weekend.

    And this was hilarious. Great to see the changes you’ve made to the site.

  4. Mike permalink
    03/10/2010 8:43 pm

    My love and loyalty to store brands stems from the childhood shopping habits developed while living in Germany. I shopped at the PX and Foodland – a store similar in musical preferences and layout to Rite-Aid – frequently and was pretty much relegated to purchasing the AAFES brand product as they were often the sole option. Plus who wanted to take their chances with a dusty scratch and dent box of Clairol hair color with a picture of a model rocking a beehive?

    I once went to a BX with a buddy of mine and it was like stepping through a time machine. You nailed it here. Nice to see your entries and REALLY enjoyed your “best of post”, especially all the installments of “Home Office at the End of the World”.

  5. Pollo con queso permalink
    03/10/2010 8:45 pm

    Girl, you are too much. Taht beehive bit was so fucking funny. These markers look weak though. Spend the extra fifty cents, cheapskate.

  6. 03/23/2010 9:12 am

    Yay. I’m looking forward to more reviews too!

  7. 03/23/2010 9:13 am

    Thanks, craftygrrl.

  8. 03/23/2010 9:13 am

    Thanks, Adrian. I like the color scheme much better now and the clearer design. I just want people to want to come here, so blingy flashing stuff is out.

  9. 03/23/2010 9:14 am

    You’re in VA, right Mike? Yeah, they got “time machines” all over the state! And thanks for the kind words. You loyal folks melt my bitter heart!

  10. 03/23/2010 9:15 am

    Why are you always ‘ounding me? LOL>

Leave a Reply

