Skip to content

Home Office at the End of the World: The Voyage Home

03/22/2010

I wear my Vader mask at night so I can so I can...

The work space came together about a month ago, but I was too busy being productive to blog about it. If you’ve kept up with the series:

Home Office at the End of the World
Home Office at the End of the World: Revenge of the Fallen
Home Office at the End of the World: The Year We Make Contact
Home Office at the End of the World: First Contact
Home Office at the End of the World: Money Never Sleeps

then you realize it’s quite an accomplishment, given where I began. What I found most surprising about the entire ordeal was how truly valuable carving out whatever piece of writing heaven in your price point is. Honestly, I wanted something to blog, a process to document, a project to complete. When I started it was all about the furniture and finding that one spectacular – yet modest priced – item that would somehow grant me the permission to claim my writer status without qualifications. Having the right desk or printer or fancy notebooks weren’t really the answer and all along I realized this. The willingness to put my faith in something so wholly inconceivable (in the beginning) was the transformation, not the fabulous furniture placement. So in some ways, writing the final chapter feels silly. Perhaps the process was exactly what I need to prove to myself and the universe that I am a committed writer.

Or maybe, like Dorothy it was there all along.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. Pollo con queso permalink
    03/22/2010 9:48 am

    You’re tops, Miss Snarks.

  2. elise permalink
    03/22/2010 9:50 am

    Wow. I kept coming back hoping I could read more of your writing. And there is a new post. I found you via the HOATEOTW series and was amazing. You are such a witty writer and I share so many of your opinions on writing, pens (yes, why does a good pen have to cost so darn much!) and reading this was a real treat.

  3. Mike permalink
    03/22/2010 9:52 am

    Looking good, Snarky. Even though I like reading what you have to say, I sort of hoped your absence here was because you were having so much fun in your new home office. This was a really neat idea for a series. Really liked how you didn’t bore us with every screw or nail you purchased but just hit the highlights. Great job!

  4. sara no h permalink
    03/22/2010 9:53 am

    I know it’s not about the purse, but ZOMG!!! That yellow purse is so cute! I’m glad you’re back. I reread your entries while you wer on hitus and damn, you’re funny.

  5. Adrian permalink
    03/22/2010 9:54 am

    This was a nice swan song for the Home Office series. I really enjoyed this post. 🙂 Looking forward to more posts. Not to put any pressure on you.

  6. c8tlin permalink
    03/22/2010 9:55 am

    cool blog. nice pictures do you do interior design? what is the scope of this blog?

  7. Pollo con queso permalink
    03/22/2010 9:55 am

    “I know it’s not about the purse, but ZOMG!!! That yellow purse is so cute! I’m glad you’re back. I reread your entries while you wer on hitus and damn, you’re funny.”

    Co-signed!

  8. ryan permalink
    03/22/2010 9:56 am

    hey, you’re back posting. niiiice!

  9. ryan permalink
    03/22/2010 9:56 am

    hey you’re back posting. niiiice!

  10. ryan permalink
    03/22/2010 9:57 am

    ugh double post. sorry.

  11. sweaterweather permalink
    03/22/2010 9:58 am

    I became so addicted to this series and I was waiting for the final episode. you did not disappoint. That lamp is killer.

  12. sweaterweather permalink
    03/22/2010 9:58 am

    alos thirding the “ZOMG that purse is cool”.

  13. sweaterweather permalink
    03/22/2010 9:58 am

    eek twitchy from typo 😦

  14. 03/22/2010 12:07 pm

    Great series and wonderful accomplishment. Now you can click your hooker boot heels together three times and say: there’s no place like home office, there’s no place like home office…

  15. 03/23/2010 9:07 am

    Why, thank you, PCQ!!

  16. 03/23/2010 9:07 am

    Glad you’re enjoying DTPW. Definitely keep coming back. I am cranking it up again and the upcoming content is new hotness.

  17. 03/23/2010 9:08 am

    Thanks, Mike. How is your garage project coming? Moar updates please!!

  18. 03/23/2010 9:08 am

    Isn’t it fab. I love this yellow purse.

  19. 03/23/2010 9:09 am

    No pressure, Adrian. *cowards from whip*

  20. 03/23/2010 9:10 am

    Hey thanks for stopping by. You can read all about the focus and the origin of this blog here. Sniff around, read some of the archives 🙂

  21. 03/23/2010 9:10 am

    awww, thanks, Ryan.

  22. 03/23/2010 9:11 am

    awww, thanks,Ryan.

  23. 03/23/2010 9:11 am

    that’s okay, I did it too.

  24. 03/23/2010 9:11 am

    Yay. I am so glad I didn’t screw it up.

  25. 03/23/2010 9:12 am

    hi cutie!

  26. elise permalink
    03/29/2010 5:58 pm

    Glad to hear it. your perspective on office supplies is so different. more playful. I don’t that much about office supplies so I feel wierd about replying other places.

  27. Mike permalink
    03/29/2010 6:00 pm

    Welp, it’s going, that’s for sure. When we put the addition on the back of hte house we didn’t take into account some of the problems we might have with relocating the garage on the other side of the house.

    right now we’re waiting out the rains and hoping to have walls and doors, I guess we’re not that hopeful, by June at the earliest.

    It’s really frustrating! Thanks for asking, tho.

  28. Mike permalink
    03/29/2010 6:01 pm

    Redlami, your response got a good chuckle out of me.

Trackbacks

  1. Dig We Must (Part I) « Does This Pen Write?
  2. Home Office at the End of the World: A New Beginning « Does This Pen Write?

Leave a Reply

