Skip to content

Product Review: A & W Nite Companion Pen

05/02/2010

Just in time for Grads and Dads, CVS presents the A & W Nite Companion Pen. If you like a solution in search of a problem, this pen’s for you, baby. Given to me by my fave grad/dad – babbycakes – I squealed with delight upon seeing the delicious looking chunky barreled pen encased in shoddy blister packaging.

As you can see the actual aesthetics of the pen are actually quite nice; the ink’s not bad either. It appears to be some of that new jack ballpoint ink. Despite earning high marks from law enforcement and midnight scribblers alike, I found myself underwhelmed by its lightness of being. I could barely see what I was writing and my handwriting looked not unlike seismic activity graphs as reported by Cal Tech.

Bottom Line

  • Great looking.
  • Great writing.
  • Great for writing midnight speeding tickets.
  • Not so great for writing midnight manifestos.
  • under ten bucks.
  • comes with three batteries and extra ink cartridge
  • Lanyard for those who like that sort of auto semi-erotic choking hazard.
9 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike permalink
    05/02/2010 4:57 pm

    Welcome back, Angelina/Snarky’s Machine.

    “Lanyard for those who like that sort of auto semi-erotic choking hazard.”

    I guess I didn’t need all of my mid morning coffee.

  2. pollo con queso permalink
    05/02/2010 4:58 pm

    Hilarious. I won’t lie. I kind of want a pen like that. If it actually had a working light.

  3. Crissy permalink
    05/02/2010 5:10 pm

    Yay! You’re back. The choking hazard line made me spit Dr. Pepper on my screen. Oh, I missed you.

  4. 05/03/2010 2:48 am

    I’m pretty amazed that a novelty pen turned out to actually be a decent writing instrument.

  5. 05/11/2010 5:23 am

    Oh holy hell, this may be just the thing, low light and all. My partner is the newly hired local/indie film reviewer for our local paper, and he might love to have a low-light pen to use at the movies. And with this gift, I get bonus points for the High Fidelity reference.

  6. Sugarcookies permalink
    05/17/2010 1:57 pm

    I have this pen and I love it. I don’t know how people can use it in poor lighting conditions. I haven’t found it to prove enough light. It’s like trying to write a school paper by car dome light.

Trackbacks

  1. October’s Daily Arsenal « Does This Pen Write?
  2. One Minute Reviews: EXECUTIVE STYLE 4-in-1 Pen « Does This Pen Write?
  3. A New Year; Same Old Pens! « Does This Pen Write?

Leave a Reply

