Skip to content

Call It Lean Mean Mean Green

05/17/2010

Unfortunately, I have no thoughtful narratives around the use of green ink. I just enjoy the way it looks on the page and my favorite green pen – not pictured or reviewed – is the Sanford® Uni-Ball® Rollerball Pen. Actually, I need to pick up another dozen of these pens!

  1. Foray® Liquid Rollerball Pen, 0.7 mm – I actually dig the green version much more than even the black ink version. I haven’t been using this one lately, but now that I’ve test driven it, I think it’s time to revisit it.
  2. Zig Millennium 05 line – The picture isn’t great to begin with, but even without the shoddy photography, the green version of this pen does not thrill or dazzle.
  3. American Crafts Precision Pen – In a previous review I wrote: “I haven’t used any American Crafts products before so when I saw a pack of five pens on sale, I was intrigued. Since most of the mixed to negative reviews I’ve read online addressed issues which weren’t applicable to me, I was fairly open minded about these pens. I LOVE THEM. One of the problems I have with some crafting pens is they tend feel scratchy when I write, possess a strong smell or pool ink if I don’t move across the page fast enough. These pens did none of those things. I like the 03 better than the 05, but mostly because I’m really trying to downsize my writing and not because of any performance issues I observed.” Several months later, I stand by my initial assessment. Definitely find it surprising that folks have lots of quality control issues with these pens.
  4. Staples Brand Sonix Gel Pen – This hunter green ink scores high marks for its originality. The only occasion in which I have encountered this color is during a trip to a fancy pen/paper store where I tested a gorgeous hunter green ink, using a sublime Levenger fountain pen. Don’t misunderstand me, this pen in no way approximates that level of pengasm; the color merely reminded me of that memory and therefore it’s like kissing a guy and it reminding you of kissing someone much much better.
  5. Helix Fine Line Markers – I snagged these on clearance and wasn’t expecting much. The barrel wasn’t especially appealing to me, but since I already drank a steaming mug of No, thanks on the ten dollar Staedtler pigment markers and really wanted a fine line marker fix, I decided to try these out. The Helix markers turned out to be a lovely surprise. I liked the weight and feel of the barrel and had a blast writing a grocery list. It’s always a good sign when I’m looking for something to write just to use the pen. I marked up a craptastic novel written during Nanowrimo ’06 and was pleased with the crispness of the line and how it made my curvy penmanship look neat.

And because I couldn’t resist…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/18/2010 3:19 pm

    Snarky, you’re just a mean, green writing machine.

  2. 05/24/2010 11:29 pm

    I love this blog! I love office supplies. My favorite pen is the Pilot Precise V-7. But I write in red pen a lot for work.

  3. 05/25/2010 1:14 am

    ‘pengasm’?

    Marry me?

  4. 05/25/2010 12:37 pm

    I never got into green ink and now that I’m looking at your samples, I think it’s only because I never got my hands on a quality green pen. The Foray and the Helix look like pens I would try – thanks for the tip. Maybe when I get over obsessively trying to unclog my DCI fountain (it’s probably a lost cause).

  5. cinnamoncanuck permalink
    05/26/2010 4:22 pm

    I love green ink! And it’s hereditary: both my mother and my grandfather have been known to prefer it. I think it’s because it looks so unique on the page…it pops out in a way that blue ink doesn’t…

Leave a Reply

