Skip to content

Dig We Must (Part I)

05/25/2010

[cue TPIR “Dig We Must”]

Thanks to recent shout outs on Bitch Magazine’s Bitch List and several other places, my humble little pen blog is getting all sorts of traffic. So I thought I’d take the time to introduce myself and talk a little about why I do this here pen blog.

It all started with Post-it® Flag Pens

    Does This Pen Write? is a spin off of my cult o’ personality blog – Snarky’s Machine, which contrary to popular belief has no unifying theme other than all its content is generated by me. As SnM began to sharpen its focus into a home for wayward content, which cannot always be easily categorized, I needed a place for all my pen, writing and The Shining commentary.

    Does This Pen Write? – or DTPW?, if you’re into the whole brevity thing – is the place where I blather passionately about pens, office products and the lost art of writing by hand. While I am hardly a luddite, I do find myself at odds with the current cultural obsession with electronic forms of previously written communication – such as PDAs and Smartphones. To paraphrase the Dude: I still track my action items manually.

The search for SRX

    The true driving force behind this blog is the RoseArt/Mega Brand SRX-770 Grip Roller Ball Pen, which for nearly four years was the pen I used exclusively:

    Ah, the mighty RoseArt SRX-770 grip. This is my favorite pen. Perfect in every way. Thick barrel, substantial length and nice dark, smooth ink. Unfortunately, I have four left and have been unable to find them at Kmart anymore. I have scoured the depths of the internet to find someone selling these damn things. They are cheap $4.99 for a pack of four and utterly dreamy. I want a pen fairy to send me a box of them. I keep putting twenty bucks under my pillow and wake up each morning with no box of SRX-770s. Still, I use them with wild abandon. Again, not refillable so there’s no way for me to cannibalize this pen and save the barrel.

    (source)

    When I started the blog I was down to my last blister pack of these pen and feared I would not be able to find something I enjoyed at a comparable price point. It was through blogging, interacting with other folks and test driving tons of pens that I sort of figured out The Special Pen was a journey, not a destination. It’s an individual state of mind. It’s also a lot like falling in love and getting your heart smashed; eventually, you will in fact love again. It’s been six months since DTPW?’s inception and despite possessing only two SRX-770s I am loving again, so to speak.

Home Office at the End of the World

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sugarcookies permalink
    05/25/2010 7:29 pm

    Yay! A two part clip show. Angelina, I am so glad you are actively posting again. Have missed your posts a lot.

  2. Miriam P permalink
    05/25/2010 7:38 pm

    *reads*

    Trying to catch up with all your writing. Wow, you’re all over the place!

  3. Adrian permalink
    05/25/2010 7:39 pm

    I never tire of rereading the “Home Office” series. It’s some of your finest work, Angelina. Loving all the new content as well. But, of course, you already know that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

