Skip to content

Copic Multiliner SP

05/26/2010

Photo Credit - Dick Blick

Copic Multiliner Pens were tucked into a package sent to me by DTPW? early adopter Adrian. Enclosed was this handwritten note on gorgeous handmade paper:

    Wished to see a review of this pen and felt the best way to facilitate it was to send a couple to you. Cheers!

Well it worked! Forgive the absence of a writing sample and actual product snaps. Despite being one of the best conventions of pen blogging, it’s one I haven’t mastered and would rather spare folks shaky camera work and uninspiring scan jobs. The Copic Multiliner SP deserves better than that.

Like Kaluha mudpie slushes, The Copic Multiliner SP is a sometimes food; that’s largely due to price. That said, it’s worth every penny. For starters these pens are sustainable. You can changes the nibs and refill the ink. Despite my love of pen shopping, I find lack of sustainability rapidly becoming a deal breaker.

In my mind I pictured these pens looking and feeling similar to ZIG® Memory System® Millennium™ Pens, which is partly why I wasn’t eager to spend my Archie Double Digest allowance on them. This theory was quickly debunked when I compared the two side by side. Sadly, in direct competition the Zig Pen – which is a very NICE pen – bore as much resemblance to the Multiliner as Primo by Parfums de Coeur resembles Giorgio. Wait, does anyone actually wear Giorgio or have I just dated myself again?

The devastation continued when I compared the Copic’s writing prowess to the only legitimate contender in my collection – Brad, my sweet, sweet Faber-Castell® Pitt Artist Pen – which whimpered in the presence of the Multiliner. Now, before you think this Copic Multiliner SP is running around the pen jar, taking up space and making the other pens feel badly about themselves, I should clarify the Multiliner is an elegant and gracious writing instrument. It is not “spoiled down” or pompous. It’s a proud and hard working illustrator’s pen. I just wish I could provide a life for this pen worthy of its talent and pedigree. Unfortunately, since I am not in possession of any artistic talent, it’s unlikely the Copic Multiliner SP will used beyond infrequent – albeit deeply reverent – shopping lists and birthday cards.

That said, this Multiliner SP provided pure writing entertainment. Plus I got props for my pen when I carefully penned some notes – okay it was a shopping list on an index card – while chilling at Starbucks. Someone actually mistook me for an artist. The kind that draws stuff. That was pretty fun!

The Bottom Line

  • Classic, styling similar to Zig, with Zig being the Scion xA and Copic Multiliner being the Lexus LS
  • Convinced of its superb inking capabilities, but when I track down one of my artistic friends I confirm it.
  • Sustainable, with refillable inks and replaceable nibs. Ha, the word “nibs” reminds me of nipples, which confirms that despite being grown, I’m still kind of like a five year old. I just love typing “nibs”.
  • Comfortable! I am a lefty turned righty who still writes like a lefty. Sometimes this contributes to writing fatigue because of the strain of writing “backwards”. This pen was wonderful. I wrote for a good twenty minutes – carefully crafted list of daily cleaning tasks – and my hand didn’t cramp or tire.
  • Pricey for an individual pen, but still well within the DTWP? price point – $6.75 and refills are in the $3 range. My set was a gift and I do not look for dental records upon receiving a gift horse. That’s naughty.
  • Extremely fun to use! I cannot stress this enough. It’s fun using this pen. Where can you get legal, family friendly fun for under seven bucks that doesn’t involve Disney?
  • Unfortunately, it will not prepare bacon to your desired crispiness.
11 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/26/2010 12:09 pm

    I have a similar problem… way back in college I had to take a drafting class, and it was there I was introduced to the world of fine pens — a set of Staedtler Mars technicals. I dabbled in drawing and calligraphy at the time, and I was in love. Sadly, aside from doodling on my yellow pad during boring meetings I don’t draw anymore, so I can’t justify spending the money. But whenever I visit the college bookstore where I work I drool over the pens in the art section.

  2. 05/26/2010 12:40 pm

    Ooh. I really like Staedtler Mars Tech pens. I think there are two tucked somewhere in the home office at the end of the world. I have been generally disappointed with selection of pens available at the colleges around these parts. I guess they really believe people no longer write anything by hand. It’s nothing but Bic Stix pens w/ the school logo or Pilot G2 RT.

  3. 05/26/2010 3:22 pm

    The campus bookstore here is pretty decent; in addition to their own office-supply pen wall and the art/tech section, there is an OfficeMax franchise wall that has additional pens, including some from their TUL line. And there’s a fantastic art supply store not too far away.

  4. 05/26/2010 7:15 pm

    Refillable AND renibable (should that have a double b somewhere, d’you s’pose? I ask because I yearn for knowledge)? I am so buying some of these immediately.

  5. 05/26/2010 7:26 pm

    @Michelle Galo – definitely score some. You can find deals, but I tend to stick to Jetpens if I want to test drive a new product. Very helpful and knowledgeable staff.

    @Redlami – I love that art supply store muchly.

  6. 05/27/2010 5:04 pm

    Hey SM, I didn’t realize how long I’ve been reading you at Kate Harding’s place (or that I’ve bookmarked Fry Butt too) until I just went over there to see what’s new and saw her post on farewells. DTPW? has been on my Pocket Blonde blog roll for quite some time, so I’m even prouder of my taste in reading good writing! 😉

  7. ccorrada permalink
    05/29/2010 11:58 am

    interesting… I have one, that I use mostly to sign and write on CDs at the office, but now I think I should put it in rotation and try the other nibs. Thanks for the fun-filled review!

  8. 06/01/2010 12:17 am

    Okay, when the Faber-Castell® Pitt Artist Pen dies I’ll go for the Copic Multiliner. I hate throwing pens away.

  9. Storage Chest · permalink
    11/12/2010 7:09 pm

    i love to receive birthday cards specially if they are custom made.

  10. 12/18/2010 1:43 am

    I bought a Copic Multiliner SP in size .05 while living in Germany. Got a refill to go with it. Moved to the US of A in March and finally had time to be an artist for real. Quickly fell in love with accenting my watercolors with fine ink touches and totally enjoyed using my Copic. Today had to change to my one and only refill and suddenly got nervous wondering if I could buy them here. A search on line found I would be able to get my fix for this pen. It also found me your entertaining blog. As an artist, let me assure you that the Copic is worth every penny as you said and I just love the sustainability of it, too. Good art is helped along with good tools. I’m also a bit of a pen freak, being one who still likes writing letters and cards with real classy fountain pens. I even have one in which the point retracts when not in use and one that has a gold nib. Both are joys to write with, but Copic Multiliner is my choice to draw with. Cheers!

Trackbacks

  1. Fall Faves… « Does This Pen Write?

Leave a Reply

