Skip to content

Pantone® Universe Twin Markers

06/05/2010

All the colors in the trademarked rainbow.

I am very fascinated with Pantone and all its color generating mysteries, so when my friend Jess traded me her never used set of Pantone Universe Twin Markers I was pretty freaking excited. First impressions are important and Pantone has really done everything to ensure their Universe Markers wow the crowds. The barrel design – with its safe Volvo-esque boxiness – duplicates the aesthetics of many the fancy illustrator markers as well as their throat seizing price tags – nearly forty bucks for a set of 12 markers. This alone would render the Pantone Universe Marker Set ineligible for examination here at Does This Pen Write?, but we’ve already bought the ticket – so to speak – and now we must take the ride. The Pantone Universe Marker adds nothing new to the dual tip – brush/fine marker – discourse and the performance is on par with Faber-Castell Pitt Big Brush Artist Pens, though I find the Artist Pens provide a far more satisfying inking/sketching/coloring experience. The performance and appearance, while stylish and serviceable aren’t exactly groundbreaking. That said, the COLORS are! The colors are rich, vivid and gorgeous. The blue marker made me feel as though I could actually jump into the picture and find myself surrounded by deeply pigmented blueness. I compared Pantone Universe to my Copic blue marker and the latter seemed flat by comparison. Also, there appears to be something to these squarish shaped writing instruments. My hand did not fatigue. Moreover, the notion of writing fatigue didn’t even cross my mind. That’s always a concern for me and it’s another check mark in the plus column for this product. Overall, I would give these a well deserved, “w00t”. Truly nice product. Pantone might not know how to jazz up the wheel, but damn sure know how to make it roll.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/05/2010 4:34 pm

    I’d imagine that Pantone would pretty much have to have the best color around. I mean, they own the copyright on the rainbow, right?

  2. 06/05/2010 4:47 pm

    The one thing I would not like about working for Pantone is that they, being the ur-text of color- don’t give their colors outrageous names. Like, so “apricotcha” or “vamp” for them. It’s all Pantone 228 or Pantone 157. Which makes sense, since they are in the business of helping other people figure out how to make color part of their branding and product development.

    But my fantasy job would be Lipstick Color Namer or Color Style Determinor For the Fashion Industry, and those jobs do not deal in “Pantone 666” or whatever.

    But those pens look sleeky-chicy.

  3. 06/05/2010 10:40 pm

    Those are incredible-looking markers. I didn’t realize Pantone made something like this, but it’s a natural fit. I like the boxiness too, they just look so different from regulard old round markers.

    AnthroK8, those would be my fantasy jobs as well. Like Elaine on Seinfeld writing copy for the Perelman’s catalog, I’d love to name lipsticks or eyeshadows or something like that.

  4. SaraKate permalink
    06/07/2010 4:20 pm

    There is something about that square shape that’s way better for the hands than a round shape of similar size. I knit, and there’s a company that makes square knitting needles, and they too are much much better at not causing hand fatigue.

  5. 06/08/2010 3:43 am

    @SaraKate – thank you for the knitting needle recommendation. It had never occurred to me to seek out square shaped needles! I had sort of given up on knitting because no matter how big the needles the activity becomes fatiguing long before I’ve gotten beyond the long strip of fabric point.

  6. 06/08/2010 3:48 am

    But my fantasy job would be Lipstick Color Namer or Color Style Determinor For the Fashion Industry, and those jobs do not deal in “Pantone 666″ or whatever.

    @Anthro and @dianeb

    I think about naming things too. Sometimes I make Franken-Polish nail colors and given them funny names. I have a “greige” color I call, “Last Exit to Brooklyn”. I mostly name my colors after movies. I made one called, “Sharky’s Machine,” which is a turbo charged metallic, mega glittery dream suspended in a baby pink gelly. It’s totally fun.

  7. ryan permalink
    06/24/2010 6:51 pm

    we have these at work (a graphic design firm) and they are seen as more style than substance. I prefer them because the colors are true and it cuts down on confusion, since we tend to speak “Pantone” anyway.

  8. 06/25/2011 12:06 am

    i can’t find any information anywhere about the size of the smaller felt tip end – is it 1mm, .05 or whatever.
    do you know?

Leave a Reply

