Skip to content

It’s Almost the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

06/06/2010

House of Crayons and Fog

Texas has had quite a bit of well deserved smack downs of late as it relates to education, but in snooping around I found a nice story out of Texas regarding the Alvarado school district using some of its stimulus funds to purchase school supplies for its students.

When we received the stimulus funds, we wanted to use it to impact the greatest number of people in our community that we possibly could,” said Ellen Cooper, AISD assistant superintendent of instruction. “When the first day of school comes around, the only thing our students will need to bring are themselves. School supplies will already be in the classroom.

In addition to being wildly passionate about office/school/art supplies, I’m also wildly passionate about accessibility as it relates to class. The idea that a child or adult might not have access to the joys of scribbling on paper – if they desire so – is a real bummer to me. I realize there are more important things to ensure folks have available to them, but DTPW isn’t the forum to specifically address those issues. I do write about those issues in many different places, so hopefully you will honor my right not to do so in this space.

I do my part each year, purchasing cool supplies and dumping them into the big crayon shaped bin near the front of the store. It’s an honor and a pleasure and I hope the recipients get a thrill out of using those crayons, pens, folders, composition notebooks and markers.

Ways to get involved

  1. Charity Guide has tips for individuals and organizations wishing to partner with a school or district.
  2. Pens for Kids is an org I like donating my rarely used pens.
  3. During July and August (when the supplies are at their cheapest) check to see if the retailer has a dump bin – it might not be crayon shaped – for new school supply donations. Even a couple of bucks can purchase glue sticks, markers, crayons or paper.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. mickey permalink
    06/06/2010 1:19 pm

    Thanks for the reminder! I will be on the lookout for that today, while at Staples.

  2. 06/06/2010 5:01 pm

    I appreciate your ability to raise awareness of issues through your passion for office supplies. Thanks for letting me know that we’re coming into a time when I can get the most bang for my charitable buck!

  3. pollo con queso permalink
    06/24/2010 6:53 pm

    Thanks for the heads up!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention It’s Almost the Most Wonderful Time of the Year « Does This Pen Write? -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

