Skip to content

This Chair Was Made for You and Me

06/24/2010

With summer officially here, my thoughts immediately turn to portable seating solutions. Irrespective of season my seating preferences lean towards the plastic/resin, brightly color and foldable in nature. I also favor armless chairs, because while this is not my personal experience, I realize chairs with arms provide a host of accessibility issues and also, I don’t find them as aesthetically pleasing.

  • Who knew heaven could be had for $13.99! The NISSE in hot pink clearly speaks my interior design language and is the front runner for “The Chair of Summer 2010”. I am counting down the days until I will have enough free time to convince someone else to drive a couple of hours to Ikea and pick one up for me.
  • The Herman chair is such a thing of bargain beauty. With its clean, noble lines and bright colors! I own two in yellow, scored for the price of one. I find them wildly uncomfortable for extended periods of time, but considering my feelings on comfy chairs, the Herman is quite perfect for me:

    Similar to Erika Lopez, I like tracing the genesis of big bad societal things to their comfy chair origins. I love the concept of “comfy chairs as harbingers of societal doom”. Lopez (Ms. E, forgive me for mangling your quote) wrote something along the lines, “This sort of thing was different back before our chairs got so goddamn comfortable.” Obviously, it’s not simply a matter of comfy chairs, but the way they awaken a desire for everything to be comfortable, which creates desire for more efficiency, so in turn we’ll be more comfortable. All that efficiency and comfort descend into madness when the powerful decide there will need to be government organizations and paperwork to keep things real comfortable and efficient. In addition dystopian societies should feature extremely bland color schemes to prevent distracting emotions such as free will.

  • Ikea’s Urban chair is a less than satisfying knockoff – forty bucks for a plastic chair – for those of us adhering to the unofficial motto of DTPW: cheap, fast and out of control! Still this is a really comfy chair. It’s not as portable as I’d like, given that it does not fold, but it does come in light blue, and if I happen to spot one on Craigslist or perched atop a broken washing machine by the side of the road, I’ll be sure to cart it home ASAP.
9 Comments leave one →
  1. ozma permalink
    06/24/2010 6:40 am

    I seem to collect chairs like a mofo.

    I should open a chair store.

    Then, I get attached to said chairs. And they clutter things up. But chairs have LEGS. It is easy to personify them.

    None of my chairs are hip and groovy like these chairs.

    I would say craigslist is the place to go for chairs…but the danger is that you will end up like me, with dozens of chairs in your basement. Most not comfy.

  2. 06/24/2010 6:46 am

    @Ozma – Oh my goodness! ME TOO. I used to haunt this resale office supply store near my old place and they had a surplus of old IBM office chairs, which they sold for $2 – $5 bucks a pop. I had what my friends termed a “$22 Living Room!” filled with an assortment of ridiculous 80s office chairs, two of which I still have. Chairs, lamps and tables are my weaknesses. Just looking around the living room I count NINE folding chairs. It’s like an airport waiting area up in this piece! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. 06/24/2010 2:53 pm

    I used to be similar about stools. Don’t ask me why, because I hate sitting in stools — I tend to fall out of them, particularly when participating in traditional stool-sitting activities. But having stools in various heights can be handy, as they can fill in for lampstands and drink holders, and in a pinch even provide additional seating when space is at a premium, like at indoor winter hippie folk circles.

  4. Adrian permalink
    06/24/2010 6:49 pm

    I love the Herman chair. We use those in our conference room. The supervisor at the agency is a germaphobe and likes being able to wipe down the chairs after meetings.

  5. ryan permalink
    06/24/2010 6:50 pm

    Have you seen the resin folding chairs at Target? Any thoughts?

  6. Jules permalink
    06/27/2010 3:45 am

    These are cute chairs. I don’t like plastic chairs, but those are nice. I haven’t had much luck with ikea chairs. they are shoddily constructed.

  7. Henrietta permalink
    06/27/2010 3:48 am

    I have a funny story about the HERMAN. I wss having a few beers wwith friends at a cookout and we were sitting in those chairs. I guess we must have been really drunk, I was rocking in my chair and suddenly I fell through the back! The HERMAN was a forty dollar chair that behaved like a forty cent piece of worthless garbage. Ikea wouldn’t even give me another one. Jerks.

  8. Sara no H permalink
    06/27/2010 3:55 am

    Ryan – Are you talking about the $9.99 models? Those are great. I think Angelina has one in spring green??? I have two in hot pink. I use them in craft space. I like them a lot, but I don’t think they’re great for an extended amount of time.

Trackbacks

  1. Dr. Strangecolor: 5 Ways to Quit Worrying and Start Loving Pantone’s Honeysuckle « Does This Pen Write?

Leave a Reply

