Skip to content

Planning Cheek to Cheek

06/27/2010

My indispensable Moleskine Color-a-Month Planner

Last December I talked some seriously jive about the Moleskine Color-a-Month Daily Planner:

The initial concept behind this planner is very much appealing to me. I love the colors of the notebooks and stickers are always a good idea. However, I need lots of space to get my plan on. These are cute for jotting down a few things or maybe keeping track of my wayward menstrual cycle, but I don’t think I could do any real planning. Maybe in a bigger size I would be tempted to make a go of things. But honestly, at $40, it’s just not that appealing to me. I should also note I haven’t drank the Moleskine kool-aid so perhaps that is largely the problem.

Well Fast forward six months later and I’m singing a way different tune. It goes something like this:

I RAOK’d (random act of kindness) the first one I received only to later find myself in a Borders where there was one for a DOLLAR! I am surprised at the amount of planning I do in these teeny tiny Volant notebooks. As a sucker for a tiny notebook these have dazzled me far beyond my wildest dreams. Oh that’s not hyperbole. I don’t know how I could have been such a | productive | blogger without this planner. I still use my others for overall freelancing stuffs, but the Moleskine is for all my blogging, errand running and project idea-ing. This planner appeals to old Synesthesia with its brightly colored arrangement of day and time. Synesthesia is an involuntary cross sensory response, causing a person to “assign” letters/numbers certain colors – explains my love of brightly colored alphabetical fridge magnets – and other things, like cars or iPods get assigned personalities and such. Well that’s how the condition expresses itself in me. I don’t experience various colors possessing sound, but that would be really cool! I wonder what aqua sounds like!

I’m pretty sure July is going to be a fantastic month, given that it’s aqua and all! July will be “aqua” for the rest of my life. I hope they don’t change the colors for the next year’s version of the planner. Otherwise, I’ll just have to make my own!

One Comment leave one →
  1. 06/28/2010 12:33 pm

    I always enjoy these little peeks behind the curtain. I have this image of you doing all this writing and organizing like Ginger Rogers, dancing in high heels. Backwards.

Leave a Reply

