Skip to content

Wal-Mart @the Office Gel Pens

08/16/2010

I was thrilled when I discovered Inc. Brand Magna Blast Gel Pens hadn’t completely disappeared, but had been repackaged and were being sold under Wal*Mart’s “@The Office” brand. Yet, oddly enough, a search through my archives yielded no formal review of these pens in their previous Inc. Brand incarnation.

Other than the packaging, there is little difference in the two pens – this is a GOOD THING. Both boast 3x the ink and what glorious ink it is. I love these pens so much and was pretty burnt when I stop being able to find the neon colors, which only come in .8mm.

comparison of Magna Brand - top and New Wal Mart Brand - bottom

While all the colors are lovely, I prefer the blue and the purple for daily use. I should have gotten a few more packs, but for now I’m content to fondle and test drive these pens until they go dry, which based on my previous experience with them, won’t be for a very long time.

The Bottom Line:

  • Revamped Magna Tank gel pens
  • Smooth, vivid gel ink
  • attractive price point – $3.64/5 pack
  • extremely long lasting
  • Shows well on both dark and light paper
  • chunky barrel makes for comfortable writing experience
  • fun colors
  • Does This Pen Write approved!
26 Comments leave one →
  1. Patrice permalink
    08/23/2010 3:28 pm

    I just noticed this repackaging too – nosing around the school supplies as I am wont to do every year ’round this time… :o)

    I have a set of these pens that I have had for quite some time, and though I don’t use them every day, I feel like I’ve used them a lot and they just keep going, and going!

  2. carley permalink
    11/08/2010 11:13 pm

    where can i bu;y these pens other than walmart

  3. 11/09/2010 12:04 am

    @Carley – unfortunately, it seems that wal*mart carries the exclusively.

  4. Stacey permalink
    11/26/2010 8:54 pm

    ya, I got some and they are really good, the worst thing was my fault, on the blue pen I took off the cover too see how much I had left and I started falling asleep and I started sucking it and then Ink came out and my tounge was all blue (but it came out as soon as I cleaned it) and it was pretty funny-i hope they are non toxic lol-i also hope when I run out of ink, when I try to get more I hope they still have them

  5. 02/10/2011 4:13 pm

    Love these pens in a sick way. Thank you baby Jesus for your blog, now I know they’re not gone forever *I sit now clenching the last [orange] O.G. model magna blast pen in my pocession*

  6. don roth permalink
    08/14/2011 12:36 pm

    I’ll never buy these again, though I love the way they feel when in my hand. I have experience skipping when I use them and that is too bad for I have little time!

  7. tony margott sr permalink
    08/29/2011 4:36 am

    i watch my 5 pens like a hawk . i am down to 3… red green and my fav blue . these pens are awesome and my next visit to wal mart will include 5 packs of these . best pen i have used in many years .

    tony age 72

  8. 09/14/2011 6:39 pm

    I love @ the office brand but they are always sold out at walmart.

  9. Gary K permalink
    10/11/2011 4:00 pm

    I picked up a gel model of an “@ the Office” pen. The pen is smooth enough however it feels loose. I don’t know how much they sell for or how they are packaged but the one I have does not look like the photos above. It also has a triangular cushioned base and feels good to the touch. As for anyone looking for the best writing and gliding gel pen I would have to recommend one of two. Each have their merits. First is the UniBall “Jetstream” 1.0 mm. They have been around for a while and are the standard for gel pens. Another highly competitive writing and gliding gel pen is the PaperMate Profile-Elite and I believe it to be a 1.4mm. For those looking for the best fine point or better said ultra-fine point no pen compares to the end result of the Pilot G-2 (ultra fine point) 0.38mm. You have to look hard to find the 0.38 mm but most Target stores have it. I haven’t found it at WalMart though and Office Depot has only started to handle them. These are the absolute best for making notes in any book or Bible.

  10. Charlet Anne permalink
    11/14/2011 3:33 pm

    This has been an amazeingly helpful post and im so excited. I got my first magna tank in 6th grade and i still have it today but the tip is messed up so i need aa new one abd couldnt find them anywhere under the name Magna Tank. So thankyou for your help kind sir or madam. ^-^
    Love and thanx,
    Charlet Anne.

  11. 01/26/2012 8:52 am

    I can’t find these pens anywhere. Wal mart doesn’t even list them in their store online. I found one in hot pink in my sofa. I am amazed at this pen it’s so smooth and hasn’t skipped yet. It just figures that I like it so now I won’t be able to find it! The Pilot G2 .08mm is similar ink and flow. @theOffice gel pens colors are out of this world though!! So vibrant! I use both for art and for writing in my journal.

  12. J Craig permalink
    02/09/2012 2:04 pm

    Dollar Tree sells these sometimes under the INC. Brand name

  13. Abreza permalink
    02/10/2012 9:06 pm

    Where in the world do I find the neon colors! I love these pens so much but I can’t find the neon pens anymore 😦 I’ve been to alot of different walmarts on a hunt for them! Have they discontinued the neon colored pens? 😥

  14. Ron Young permalink
    02/21/2012 7:49 pm

    Where can you purchase a pen Nader the @the office label? Walmart no longer carries this brand.

  15. Jen permalink
    08/05/2012 7:41 pm

    I can’t find them at any Wal-mart anymore? Is there anywhere else that carries these pens?

  16. Melissa permalink
    09/23/2012 11:19 pm

    I’ve been on the hunt too… I would love to know where they went!

  17. malak ajami permalink
    10/06/2012 6:11 pm

    i cant find them anymore 😦 its really depressing.

  18. Melissa permalink
    10/30/2012 3:15 am

    I heard that Dollar General was now carrying them under a new name. They look the same, but I have not tried them yet.

  19. kathy rowin permalink
    02/07/2013 8:49 pm

    I bought the original ‘MagnaBlast’ gel pens back in 2008 @ Wal-Mart and haven’t been able to find them since! They are great for my signature doodles, and i love how vivid the colors are! Please don’t stop making these! And how many colors can i get? I had purple, blue, orange, green and pink before. Can i get all of these @ Wal-Mart?

  20. Tina permalink
    06/18/2013 6:38 pm

    I’m so sad I can’t find these pens anywhere. Does anyone have any leads? I’ve spent way too much money searching for replacements….I even emailed the original manufacturer, PeachTree with out luck. I missed the repackaged @ the office brand. 😦

  21. susan permalink
    07/13/2013 12:18 pm

    I first tried the 1mm Magna Bold gel pen 2 months ago when I bought a pack to try at Dollar Tree. This is by far the best pen ever!!! I went back to buy more and they only had 2 2packs left and I bought them. Since then, this is so crazy, I have gone to 6 different Dollar Trees in my city. I even wrote to Peachtree and they did not respond. I saw on their site the other stores they sell to and even checked out those stores. NO ONE has the 1mmGEL.
    Dollar Tree has replaced it’s stock with the .07 exact gel pens and they are bad. Don’t be fooled by the INC brand 1mm ball point pens they sell there, they are bad too. I feel driven, like it’s a disease, it’s not like I’m not busy, it’s just I do lists and notes all day and I have become very particular about my pens and paper. I only use Big Chief tablets, too……

  22. jasmine permalink
    09/17/2013 6:55 am

    this is hillarious. i have a disgusting addiction to these pens as well. I am glad all of us weirdos have found each other haha. i still can’t figure out where to buy them, but i still google it every few months

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Wal*Mart @the Office Gel Pens « Does This Pen Write? -- Topsy.com
  2. October’s Daily Arsenal « Does This Pen Write?
  3. Purple and Pink Ink « Does This Pen Write?
  4. More Index Card Love! « Does This Pen Write?

Leave a Reply

