Skip to content

Lamy Safari Rollerball Pen

09/20/2010

Yellow Lamy Safari

In sixth grade my Host Nation teacher Frau Horne introduced me to Lamy’s fine writing instruments. She sat at her desk, before class, writing with her elegant pen in one of her smart notebooks. Even at age 11 I was fascinated by other people’s writing lives. I don’t think I made a distinction between creative writing and other kinds of writing. She let me road test the pen and I was hooked. I was already in the throes of my love affair and living in Germany was like candy land for office supply enthusiasts. I didn’t actually get a chance to purchase any Lamy pens while I lived overseas, but yesterday my friend Ryland gifted me a cheery yellow Lamy Safari rollerball pen.

Yellow Lamy Safari

I wrote about rollerball pens months ago and I have since come around from my previous opinion. In the past I’d found most rollerball pens to skip, make a distracting scratchy noise as they moved across the page and smear. Of course, I was mostly using inexpensive, disposable models, which unless one is fatuous, there’s no expectation of spectacular performance.

The barrel size, shape and weight were butter in my fingers. I was surprised by the plastic barrel, which is high quality, well crafted and elegant. But what impressed me most about the pen was the color instantly brightened up my day. Each time I glanced down at my hand moving across my sketchbook, I felt a burst of joy and I can only assume – since I was drafting a tedious “to do” list – the satisfaction came from the sunny yellow pen. The ink is gorgeous (I have black, blue and red) and realize that so much of rollerball nirvana is dependent on the quality of the ink. No scratchy noise or skips.

The bottom line:

  • well crafted, playful pen
  • smooth, crisp line
  • lightweight, chunky plastic barrel is a writer’s dream
  • refillable and also compatible with higher end refills.
  • pen shaped joy!
  • while mine was gifted, purchasing one will set you back $20. It’s pricey, but worth it.
10 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/20/2010 7:25 pm

    Wow that’s a bright, sunny pen! That’s like “happy face” yellow. Nice to know it’s worth the price.

  2. evmaroon permalink
    09/20/2010 10:03 pm

    Oooh, I love learning about pen makers! This one looks great and comfy. Thanks for the review!

  3. mickey permalink
    09/21/2010 4:40 pm

    Such a beautiful pen. Very cheery.

  4. 09/23/2010 1:38 pm

    The color is great. Reminds me a bit of this line from Seltzer, which we’re going to be getting at the bookstore where I work. I’m eager to get my hands on one and see if they are all that. My boss showed me the catalog and asked my opinion and I said Well, they look spiffy. But I’d have to write with one first. It’s all about the ink. Glad your sunny pen brings you joy.

  5. 09/24/2010 3:55 am

    Thanks, everyone. I am so excited about this pen. It’s been awhile since I’ve stumbled across a real show stopper of a pen.

    @Michelle Galo, I am intrigued by the Seven Year Pen. I’m going to track one of those down. They look delish.

  6. 10/08/2010 4:26 pm

    “living in Germany was like candy land for office supply enthusiasts”

    I am adding this to my favorite descriptors of life in Deutschland. (“Weltmeister von Muell sortieren” = world champions of garbage sorting, is another, from a native.) I did not buy much, but was super-excited about the quality, colors, and prices of what I did get there.

  7. Comen permalink
    12/09/2010 9:39 pm

    Greetings from Germany. I remember that I didn’t like Lamy out of principle when I was in elementary school (at my age it was ‘cool’ to own a Pelikan fountain pen; Lamy was ‘uncool’). But when I entered university I wanted something special to write my lecture notes. So I bought my first neon-orange Lamy and fell in love. This year I got a metallic-violett one for my Bday from my friends. Love it.
    By the way, I love sharp pens from Japan (like Dr. Grip and uniball) and am buying lots when going over there.

    Nice Blog!

  8. 09/30/2013 6:48 am

    Lamy safari is one of the more economical yet distinctive pens around. Overall it’s a very balanced pen

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Lamy Safari Rollerball Pen « Does This Pen Write? -- Topsy.com
  2. Lamy Vista Clear Rollerball Pen « Does This Pen Write?

Leave a Reply

