Skip to content

Wishing I Was Lucky: My Pen Wish List

09/24/2010


Seven Year Pen by Seltzer Goods

Faithful reader Michelle Galo left a comment on my previous entry mentioning this pen. After some researching and drooling over the picture, I am in love with this pen. I’m not sure what appeals to me: the array of choices or the fact the pen is said to last for seven years.

Crayola Handwriting Pens

These pens are unavailable stateside, which only adds to their desirability. If anyone in the UK or elsewhere has experience with these pens or wants to do a swap with me, let me know! I am eager to try out these pens.

Digital Pen & USB Flash Drive by Epos

Just use the pen on a flat surface, save it to the drive and edit your text on the computer! Wow, the best of both worlds. The Digital Pen sounds an awful lot like something Parker or Hardison would use on Leverage. I haven’t been able to find demonstrations of the product in action, so I’d be curious to see how well it actually works.

Pilot Dr. Grip Multipen

Every time I browse Jet Pens I find myself lingering over the gorgeous picture of this pen. I’ve never been a huge fan of Pilot Dr. Grip pens, which I don’t find particularly comfortable, but then they aren’t really designed for lefties or righties who write like lefties! But isn’t this the most gorgeous looking pen. I love the barrel shape, design and color. I really want this pen!

A little Wet Wet Wet for my lust lust lust…

15 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/24/2010 2:02 pm

    The Pilot Multipen looks like a grown-up’s version of my old childhood favorite Bic 4-color retractable.

    Years ago I used to use a CrossPad tablet, and while I loved being able to save digitized copies of my notes, my horrendous penmanship stymied the recognition software. And even if the software’s gotten better since then, my handwriting seems to have gotten worse. Still, it’s a clever design. I think it would definitely be worth revisiting this technology.

  2. Joanne permalink
    09/24/2010 2:20 pm

    Ok, the 7-year pen looks very cool. And having thrown out several pens this week for betraying me running out, I can definitely see the appeal. And looking at their store locator… when the ‘rents go to the coast they can go shopping for me 😀

  3. 09/24/2010 3:23 pm

    @Redlami – do you think the digital pen would actual work as advertised? My previous phone employed a similar technology and when I wrote on the screen nothing ever made any sense.

    @Joanne – yes, I went through my stash and found a good 30% of the pens are kaput. There is something appealing about the 7 year pen, but I just wonder if the pen requires a high level of maintenance, which might suggest that perhaps lots of pens would last that long if I only I babysat them more carefully. Thanks for the comment!!! You too, Redlami.

  4. evmaroon permalink
    09/24/2010 10:51 pm

    Ooh, I want a 7-year pen! I bet it’s not a coincidence that it lasts as long as those itches pop up.

  5. Brightico permalink
    09/25/2010 1:02 am

    Pilot Dr. Grip Multipen :
    I have one and once you write with it for a week or so you really grow to love it. The chunky design is actually for preventing carpel tunnel syndrome. The only issue is trying to find instructions on how to change out the ink. I’ve broken mine in trying to figure out how to add ink and lead and have discontinued use of the pen. I now use a Platinum Double 3 Action 2 Color Ballpoint Multi Pen + Pencil which is a bit light for my tastes but, does the job i guess.

  6. 09/25/2010 5:19 am

    I am intrigued by the 7 Year Pen. Not even for the “7 year” factor, but for the appearance. I’m shallow when it comes to my writing materials, I hate to say.

    @Redlami: I still love those retractable Bic pens!

  7. mickey permalink
    09/25/2010 2:57 pm

    I love the USB pen in concept. I badly want to have computer copies of class/seminar notes, as it is impossible to type in equations or chemical structures at lecture speed. Plus it’s a great looking pen!

    Intrigued by the 7-year pen, but I must admit I love replacing my writing utensils periodically.

  8. 09/26/2010 4:38 pm

    I’m likewise intrigued by the seven year pen, but I haven’t found a single website describing the type of pen it is other than it has a “medium tip.” I’m presuming from the description of a large ink reservoir that it is a liquid ink rollerball, but it it?

  9. 09/27/2010 3:57 pm

    @Snarky, this is a different technology than phone touch pads. It tends to be a lot more precise, but my experience was that it worked well untrained only on block writing and only when the writing is close to standard. And even with training the software, my writing was way too sloppy to recognize — heck, half the time I can’t. But it might work better for you.

  10. Valerian permalink
    09/28/2010 2:42 pm

    I used to have one of the earlier Dr. Grip pens and loved it until its tragic bicycling related death.

    Out of curiosity, I’m also a lefty, so I’m wondering if there’s a standard lefty grip? Do we mostly write the same way? I haven’t met many other lefties, and my grip doesn’t look anything like the rightie grips I’ve seen.

  11. Valerian permalink
    09/28/2010 2:44 pm

    Though if you meant the ink-smearing thing, I usually have ink stains everywhere despite my hand sanitizer addiction.

  12. Sara permalink
    09/30/2010 3:11 pm

    I assumed that by “like a lefty” she means The Hook. It involves curling the hand around so you’re approaching the writing line from the top, and your hand and arm are above the most recently-written line, rather than dragging across them. It’s a pretty common way for lefties to write, although by no means the only clever way assorted lefties have figured out the problem of keeping one’s hand out of the still-damp ink — for example, my dad, a lefty, switched a couple of years ago from The Hook to turning his page clockwise 90 degrees, and writing from top to bottom along the now-vertical line.

    Anyway, some righties also do The Hook — I recently noticed that my 7-year-old daughter writes this way, which I expect will cause conniptions when she starts cursive next year in the 3rd grade. She’s nearly ambidextrous, but I don’t know if that’s associated with this like-a-lefty thing; I also am, and so is one of my uncles, and neither of us writes like that, so it may just be personal idiosyncrasy.

  13. 10/01/2010 12:34 am

    Anyway, some righties also do The Hook — I recently noticed that my 7-year-old daughter writes this way, which I expect will cause conniptions when she starts cursive next year in the 3rd grade. She’s nearly ambidextrous, but I don’t know if that’s associated with this like-a-lefty thing; I also am, and so is one of my uncles, and neither of us writes like that, so it may just be personal idiosyncrasy.

    @sara – yes! I was a lefty turned righty who occasionally writes with her left hand and I definitely do the hook.

  14. 10/04/2010 7:11 pm

    I dropped a mention of the 7-year at work today to see if we’re still going to be getting them, and it seems we are. I’m intrigued to see how they write.

  15. 10/05/2010 2:44 am

    I can’t wait to hear what you think of them! The selection of designs is pretty freaking cool. Will y’all get the entire line or just a few considered the most likely to sell?

Leave a Reply

