Skip to content

Fall Faves…

10/02/2010

It didn’t feel like fall for me until I bit into my first Candy Corn of the season. So now that I’ve gotten that out of the way I can pull out my cozy sweaters, text like whoa (when it’s too cold to go outside) and order the first of many Pumpkin Spice Lattes.

other items…

What says, “Fall” to you?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/03/2010 3:19 pm

    For me, it means poetry again – reading it and writing it. I have a tradition of taking a break from writing in the summer that has its roots in years of working at summer camp, when writing was impossible.

    It means favorite sweaters for me too, and socks (the higher, the better!), and this year a new pair of cozy suede boots that have me looking forward to colder weather.

    It means pumpkins and all manner of gourds at the farmers’ market. Hot cider all the time. (I get a bunch of cheap short cinnamon sticks and microwave a mug with a stick in it.) Planning a trip to a corn maze. Walking in cemeteries, writing in cemeteries, reading Emily Dickinson in cemeteries. With a sweater.

  2. 10/04/2010 5:07 am

    It means pumpkins and all manner of gourds at the farmers’ market. Hot cider all the time. (I get a bunch of cheap short cinnamon sticks and microwave a mug with a stick in it.) Planning a trip to a corn maze. Walking in cemeteries, writing in cemeteries, reading Emily Dickinson in cemeteries. With a sweater.

    This sounds so glorious!!! I am gonna try your recipe. Thanks for stopping by!!!

  3. 10/04/2010 2:21 pm

    Pumpkin everything especially pumpkin beer, brisk walks in the woods, wearing tights with skirts, soup and stock making, and swapping (and purging) out the summer and fall wardrobes all are fall to me. Plus one camping trip to see the leaves and wake up in the cool air.

  4. 10/04/2010 2:43 pm

    wearing tights with skirts, soup and stock making, and swapping (and purging) out the summer and fall wardrobes all are fall to me.

    ooh. That sounds fab. What kind of tights? Have you ever checked out We Love Color.

  5. 10/06/2010 2:01 pm

    What kind of tights?
    Most of mine are from Hue, because that’s what the closest department store stocks and I buy during sales or with the coupons you get during the Goodwill donation drive. I do like the colors and they hold up fairly well (years without runs), although sometimes the seams over the belly or through the crotch exhibit signs of strain. I had a teal pair that were one of my favorites. I lost them, waited a while and determined I really did miss them, and bought a replacement pair. Just like Murphy’s Law clockwork, as soon as I wore the new pair, the missing pair revealed themselves in a corner of a suitcase.

    I do love browsing We Love Colors, but I’m on a buying moratorium. The recent move revealed the power of my weakness for tights. I have a dozen pair of tights just in my spring/summer/fall collection. I would not be surprised to find another dozen even warmer black tights in my winter bin. (The ones with runs are moved to the winter layering “wear under trousers” pile until they rip too much and then get moved to “stuff a draft dodger with these.”)

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Fall Faves… « Does This Pen Write? -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

