Skip to content

Jonathan Adler for Barnes & Noble

10/04/2010

Home furnishings hotness Jonathan Adler has a line of office supply products exclusively featured at Barnes & Noble and usually located near the cashwrap at the front of the store. My Barnes & Noble has a tendency to only have two cashiers, regardless of the time of day and length of the line, which has afforded me ample opportunity to peruse the collection of attractive office supplies I assumed I could ill afford.

I don’t know if the line is being rehabbed or just not doing as well at my particular store, but there were several items on clearance and here’s what I scored.

Kensington Blue Sketchbook (8 x 11) – This is actually a pretty nifty sketchbook. The cover was what caught my eye immediately and the bargain price (normally 12.95, but 1/2 off at my store) it felt like the score of the century. The only downside – besides being too precious for daily use – was the paper, which wasn’t as robust as what I’m used to. While quite attractive, it’s not going to lure me way from my favorite sketchbooks, which are cheaper and have better quality paper. I haven’t figured out how I’ll use the two I bought, but I really love this sketchbook.
Kensington Blue Thank You Note Cards (set of eight) – I have a total stationery fetish. I love the stuff. I like writing letters – though haven’t been as good about it as my 10 letter/week heyday – and these were too cute and cheap to pass up. (75% off!!!). The paper is substantial and the envelopes were also of good heavy weight. I loathe flimsy constructed envelopes, so I normally make my own. Anyhoo, these cards are whimsical, but appropriate for professional correspondence. The only drawback was “Thank You” scrawled across the bottom. It definitely limits their use to more positive missives. Though maybe it would be good foil. Who – except the very jacked up – expects to find poison pen correspondence tucked inside a card as lovely as these?

Teal Green Metal Pen/Pencil Set – For the record, I should admit I more taken by the case than whatever happened to be housed inside. At first I didn’t even realize it was a pen/pencil set. This proved to be major bummer for the contents of the case, as they had a lot to live up to. Sadly, they didn’t. Both items were unremarkable as far as writing goes. The pen was on par with any attractive wannabe “fine writing” instrument, with the barrel feeling too light in my hand. The mechanical pencil was too smooth and light to get a good grip, but since I’m not especially into pencils this wasn’t a big tragedy to me. The case has ultimately gotten lost in the latest round of discardia. And that’s the name of that tune.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/04/2010 2:02 pm

    Lovely! One of the perks when I was a B&N employee was snagging items the moment they went on clearance. (As you might guess, your next big chance for discounts is Dec. 26, but they do tend to do a bit of clearance in fall to make room for the holiday items.

    When you do discardia with your pens, pencils, and office supplies, where do they go? It’s not in my nature to throw working items in the trash, and when I tried selling them for a penny a piece at our rummage this spring, the only ones that left our possession were the cow-themed items. The school-supply drive bin at Staples did not seem to welcome barely-used office supplies or new but not in the package items.

  2. 10/04/2010 2:40 pm

    When you do discardia with your pens, pencils, and office supplies, where do they go?

    Thanks for swinging by! Unless the item is beyond salvaging I donate unwanted items to shelters for arts&crafts/general office supplies, have office supply swaps w/ friends or I just gather up the items in a box bring them to the library or laundromats or college common areas.

    Also, Pens for Kids is a great place to unload unwanted, but working pens!!!

  3. evmaroon permalink
    10/04/2010 3:16 pm

    That plus sign design looks just like what we saw on Project Runway last week from Mondo! Save the color palette…

  4. 10/04/2010 3:23 pm

    Who – except the very jacked up – expects to find poison pen correspondence tucked inside a card as lovely as these?

    LOL… I can think of all kinds of trojan horses to hide in these.

  5. 10/06/2010 1:52 pm

    Thanks for the suggestions!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Jonathan Adler for Barnes & Noble « Does This Pen Write? -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

