Skip to content

All Weather Pen No. 37

10/05/2010

A company called Rite in the Rain makes a pen – gifted to me by Babby – called the All Weather Pen No. 37! When Babby gave it to me I was intrigued and grateful, but curious as to how it would be applicable to my lifestyle. The pen is marketed towards adventurers of all kind – campers, military personnel and possibly diving instructors. I’ll be honest, the only situation I imagined being able to use the pen as marketed was if – God forbid – I was trapped in a sinking car and needed to draft a frantic, “FREAKING HELP ME!!!” note. Given that’s unlikely happen – thanks to advice (for humor purposes only) gleaned from my tear away Worst Case Scenario calendar – I opted to test drive the pen under decidedly less dire circumstances. I grabbed a Pad N°12 Rhodia and a spray bottle. According to ad copy for the All Weather Pen No. 37, “These all-weather pens write on wet paper and upside down in temperatures from -30F to 250F.” I decided to embark on my experiment and went on the back porch at the middle of the night after waiting for the internet to tell me it was 45° outside. I tore a page out and sprayed it down with water. Then I wrote! Oh snap! The bad boy actually wrote. It was pretty exciting. I guess I don’t need to cook beans over an open flame or join the Marines in order to be adventurous! I love technology!

The stuff you really care about

  • Bland barrel design makes the pen unattractive to most pen thieves.
  • black magical ink
  • writes on wet paper and in a variety of extreme conditions.
  • refillable, but have to get the special magical ink refills.
  • A doorbusting $7.95!!!
  • Will bring out the adventurer in just about anyone! No beans or boot camp required!

Mermaid Sade could write lyrics with this pen!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Hsofia permalink
    10/05/2010 4:40 am

    I’m tickled that you keep mentioning beans. I might need that pen – and the pen. Seattle rainy season is just around the corner.

  2. 10/05/2010 5:59 am

    For some reason I thought every season was rainy season in Seattle! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Valerian permalink
    10/05/2010 4:45 pm

    Reminds me of my space pen, except way less expensive!

  4. 10/05/2010 8:22 pm

    What kind do you have? I see them at Staples, but I haven’t ever bought them. What are they like?

  5. Valerian permalink
    10/06/2010 8:47 am

    I have one of the anodized-finish bullet-style pens in blue, by Fisher. It came with a clip but I eventually took it off because it’s a lousy clip, so I’d skip the clip and save two bucks.

    They’re okay but not good for writing fast as a leftie because the ink is a little slower to dry than cheap Bic ink is. On the other hand, it’s more saturated and looks nicer, with a slightly heavier line, and I haven’t had any issues with it drying up randomly. The ink cartridges are pressurized, which might be why, but I’m no pen expert. I mostly use it to sign checks and group greeting cards and the bill at the restaurant and such.

    It’s a good purse pen but it wouldn’t be a very good pocket pen since the anodization wears off (which is a problem with all anodized color coating, chainmail suffers from it especially quickly).

    The aluminum is always slightly cool to the touch, even in the summer, which makes it easy to find at the bottom of my purse, even with coins or other metal objects adrift… my purse is ALWAYS a mess, so that’s nice.

    In short,

    Pros: I like the ink quality and durability, it’s cute and expands/compacts well, it’s easy to find, the aluminum means it’s hard to smoosh. The ink refills aren’t super expensive and come in a lot of colors and your choice of tip for some colors (fine/medium/bold).

    Cons: The ink dries somewhat slower than other inks (faster than fountain, slower than cheaper ballpoints, about the same as most gels), the color wears off eventually, price.

    I got mine in a pen store but the manufacturer has them online at spacepen.com .

    Wow, evidently I had a lot to say! Hmm. That doesn’t happen much.

  6. 10/07/2010 8:11 pm

    I was scared to read this because I worried it would be awesome and it would cost $50 and I would be sad, but $8!! now I don’t have to wait for a holiday.

  7. 10/08/2010 11:51 pm

    @Ray Ray – I likes to keep it real – real cheap! That’s how we roll on DTPW? The only time a product will be over $20 is if it was gifted to me. Glad you’re stopping by.

  8. 10/08/2010 11:56 pm

    I enjoy scouting out unusual pens, and really enjoy getting to read your reviews of them.

  9. nauru permalink
    10/12/2010 8:24 pm

    I’m a bit more impressed by the paper they’ve got that somehow doesn’t get wet!? You can use a regular pencil on it and soak it underwater while writing. Not that I do that. But I do spill stuff on my notebook and shove into soggy bags sometimes. Might be nice. Price is right, that’s for sure.

  10. Walter permalink
    10/13/2010 9:27 am

    Those are Fisher Space Pens – the Cap-O-Matic model.
    http://www.spacepen.com/plasticbarrelwithchromecap-o-maticpen.aspx

    I have one. I haven’t tested it in the rain, but I don’t doubt it’d work fine. Better than my usual fountain pens on wet paper, I’m sure. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention All Weather Pen No. 37 « Does This Pen Write? -- Topsy.com
  2. From Penaddict.com: Ink Links « Blank Journals
  3. Roundup: Bewitching Products! « Does This Pen Write?
  4. A New Year; Same Old Pens! « Does This Pen Write?

Leave a Reply

