Skip to content

In Defense of Paper Storage

10/06/2010

Sometimes – usually late at night – when I feel as though I’ve gotten to the end of the internet, I start reading articles about things I’ll probably never do – like digitize all my “important business papers”. Like there was no hope for The Dude getting back his purloined Creedence tapes, there’s not much hope of me going totally digital. I just like paper way too much. Still, it’s always fun to read and then fantasize about what life would be like if I did make the transition. The first down side I can imagine is the loss of a much cherished rainy day activity: organizing and dejunking my papers. Oh sure, it’s nothing more than shifting the contents of one set of paper files into another, but with the addition of an even numbered Star Trek cinematic effort, the activity is instantly elevated to something magical and engaging. Unwillingness to part with a sure fire cabin fever buster is only part of the story. The other thing I enjoy about paper storage is acquiring the tools needed for the task. I only wish my paper storage needs were as great as the enticing array of paper storage products. The rapidly disappearing need for paper storage has made file clerks and the filing skill set obsolete. That’s a real bummer too. Filing papers is an oddly satisfying activity. Sure it’s boring to some, but for the jobs where I was left to endlessly file and daydream, those were the parts of the work I enjoyed the most.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/06/2010 2:07 pm

    I am saving all of my student loan paperwork for a campfire when I pay it off. Can’t do that with e-files! I did recently pick up a scanner for free and will probably digitize a portion of what I have.

    I think I would have been disappointed to have seen the trailer for American Splendor before seeing the movie. Some of my favorite surprises from that movie are in the trailer. Not a spoiler-prude, but I do like a pleasant surprise.

  2. 10/06/2010 11:14 pm

    I abhor having to deal with paper, but until everything is electronic (and until I figure out a painless and reliable backup strategy) I feel safer having many things available as hardcopy. Plus, even if I can’t get my hands on it quickly, I sleep easier knowing that the information I need is somewhere in my files.

  3. 10/06/2010 11:38 pm

    Ah, daydreaming. Now you’re talking! Yeah, I have some “chores” that I relish for the very same reason. And, no, we are not weird. What exactly we ARE, I don’t know, but we are not weird.

Leave a Reply

