Skip to content

Martha Stewart Crafts™ – Marker Set 1.2mm Bullet

10/10/2010

I found this set of Martha Stewart Crafts™ 1.2mm Bullet Markers at an art supply store’s going out of business sale. Normally, I pass by vanity collections found in crafting stores because I usually have found that – like a lot of vanity lines – you’re paying for the name and not necessarily being furnished a better product. I don’t know how much a set of these markers usually set folks back, but I’m sure it’s some scoff-worthy unreasonable amount. As it turns out these markers are produced by EK Success, manufacturers of my beloved Zig Millennium Writer Pens and also Decorative Scissors. On the Zig pens I wrote:

These were the first crafting pens I used before being introduced to gel pens. I was attracted to the barrel design and the crisp, dark line. Zig Millennium Pens were perfect for hand lettering stuff in my zine and writing poison pen entries in my journal.

My fondness for other EK Success brands probably contributed to my generally positive feelings towards this particular set of markers, which – for the record – are nothing to write home about. To be sure the pigmentation is consistent with other brands in the EK Success stable and the barrel design is really swell. Chief among my complaints was the quality of the bullet point. Unlike the comparable Zig Millennium model, I found the Martha Stewart Crafts™ kind of shoddy; after only a limited amount of use, the performance declined considerably. I suppose the best thing I can say about these pens was they only cost me four bucks for the entire set.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/11/2010 1:53 pm

    The array of colors looks wonderful. Whenever I’ve seen sets like that — pencils, crayons, markers, it doesn’t matter — I always have visions of myself doing some lovely drawing or doodle using all those colors. Even though I don’t think I’ve done anything remotely like that since I was 8 years old.

  2. 10/11/2010 3:57 pm

    These markers definitely inspire me to do something magical, but by the time I can get inspiration and the time to explore it together I find I’m on to something else. Still at these bargain basement prices this set is a keeper. Your town has bargains a go go.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Martha Stewart Crafts™ – Marker Set 1.2mm Bullet « Does This Pen Write? -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

