Skip to content

‘Zines

10/13/2010

While preparing for a ‘Zine Making 101 workshop I’m presenting next month, I came across Octapod.org, “a non profit independent arts and media organisation located in a big hot open plan space in the heart of the Civic Precinct in Newcastle.” Surfing around their site I noticed their ‘zine library, which is all kinds of cool. ‘Zines were a huge part of my life during my late teens to – well – what time is it now? I love making them and actively did so for years. I haven’t really made in a long ass time, though I suppose that’s because I’ve replaced zine making with blogging. Though at least once a year I get the urge to hole up in my place for a weekend, drinking Diet Coke, watching John Hughes films and listening to Hole’s Live Through This. Yeah, I wasn’t real into traditional riot grrrl music. I was goth and Courtney Love was about as riot grrrl as I could get.

I’m so excited about doing another ‘Zine-Making workshop and helping tween girls find their voice and be girlie goddesses. Sigh…

I was inspired by so many different things during my ‘zine-making days…

Girl Goddess #9 by Francesca Lia Block – I found this book while sitting upstairs at Border’s on 3rd Street Promenade in Santa Monica passing time before a movie. I read the entire thing and ended up missing the movie. The standout story – all are great, btw – was the title cut, centering on two girls who make zines and are in love with some weird rock star who kind of sounds like a Bowie knockoff. There is so much girlie goddess goodness housed between the cover of this book. Every time I reread it I fear it’s going to seem cheesy, but it never does. Block’s prose might be an acquired taste for some, but I find its lyricism totally accessible and engaging. The ‘zine I’m So Fucking Beautiful was one of the first ‘zines I held in my hot little hands. Written by the bad ass activist Nomy Lamm with a ferociousness and wit that blew the lid off my own angst about putting myself and my truths out there for the world. Don’t take my word for it. Make your own!

1. Glue sticks!
2. Extra long arm stapler.
3. Markers
4. Zine Scene:The Do It Yourself Guide to Zines by Francesca Lia Block and Hilary Carlip.
5. gel pens
6. Decorative scissors
7. A stack of magazines. I usually get mine from the gym or library when they do their monthly recycling.
8. Craft knife
9. Paper
10. Inspiration and a little magic. Mine came from a little typewriter.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/15/2010 4:47 pm

    I met Nomy Lamm in college when she was an invited speaker! It was my first exposure to FA and I cringe recalling asking a question at the group lunch discussion (“I just saw a TV movie where the main symptom of cancer was sudden unexplained weight loss. If you throw out your scale, how will you know?”) Ouch. The lunchmates were, in retrospect, surprisingly tactful in replying.

    She was very cool and engaged with people who wanted to talk to her.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention ‘Zines « Does This Pen Write? -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

