Skip to content

More Novelty Pens

10/16/2010

*cue music*

A brief refresher on Novelty Pens”:

Usually ballpoint with substandard ashy ink – with the exception of the Vader pen, which is the best performing of the bunch – novelty pens float from owner to owner before eventually retiring to a pencil cup of castoffs on some receptionist’s desk.

I’m gonna let you in on a little secret: the best day of the year to hit upToys”R”Us is Halloween. The place is a ghost town and all its random treasures are there for the picking! Best part is they have lot of stuff on mega sale. This applies to other toy retailer too, but Toys “R” Us tends to be my yearly Halloween tradition.

1. Classic Game Pen – Etch A Sketch -Digging around the dump bin at the front of the store I found this one going for an unbeatable 50% off its normal list price of $4.99. That’s a bargain at twice the price. The pen operates on a twist mecha-blah blah blah. The game, while tiny is reasonably fun to play. About as much fun as the full sized one, though I guess less fun if all you’re able to do is make crooked lines. You can do that with the pen part, which is refillable, with a lot less frustration.

2. Star Wars Yoga LEGO Pen – Similar to the Vader pen, the Yoda pen is hours of entertainment and quality writing time. I can’t say for sure though, because it appears the pen is somewhat valuable so I haven’t opened it. Unlike my Burger King Star Wars watches. Though they can be had for a DTPW?-friendly $6.99!

3. Classic Game Pen – Connect Four – At first I couldn’t believe my luck when I found this pen at a Dollar Store in Syracuse. Then I realized this pen was a hot mess. Not the actual pen part, which performs on par with the other higher quality, mid range ballpoint ink, but the damn pieces. Within ten minutes of ownership them pieces were everywhere but inside the game. Very, sneaky, sis.

4. Classic Game Pen – Operation – This was actually supposed to be a gift for a friend, but it turns out doctors aren’t always keen on novelty pens or writing instruments that remind them of work. It would be like giving me a pen with pieces of half written grant proposals I had to attempt to fuse them together – puzzle style – in order to create a cogent proposal. It sat, untouched, on his hallway landing strip for nearly a year. Eventually, he discardia’d it to me without a trace of recognition or acknowledgement of the irony. Good pen!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/18/2010 5:30 pm

    The continuing miniaturization of the Etch-a-Sketch amazes me. From full size we went to those Klutz-book half size models, to key chain versions and now this. I’m surprised I haven’t yet seen a microminiature Etch-a-Sketch-on-a-chip.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention More Novelty Pens « Does This Pen Write? -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

