Skip to content

More Tiny Notebooks

10/21/2010

My trusty squat Barnes and Noble catch-all notebook for blog post ideas, product reviews and the occasional to-do list...

The previous installment of Tiny Notebooks showcased my much loved red Clairfontaine notebook, which I quickly filled with an assortment of things and now lives in a box with all my other spent tiny notebooks. This time I’m rounding up a couple of different ones I own and giving them a spin.

First a little refresher:

I love tiny notebooks (sung to the tune of “Tiny Bubbles”) and carry them with me everywhere. Most of them start off as story idea books, but usually end up being a general catch-all for appointments, grocery lists and sometimes impromptu journals. It is not at all surprising to find both a standard size notebook and a tiny notebook – or several – in my bag at the same time.

I’m totally addicted to notebooks and have no other justification.

Black Chunky Journal with Elastic Band (4×6) – I adore this notebook. Unfortunately, it appears that Barnes & Noble no longer carries them! Though I should have been suspicious when I scored the normally priced $5.95 journal for 75% off two years ago. It had been out of rotation for about a year and now it’s back with a vengeance. It boasts a sweet little elastic band to keep the damn thing shut, paper on par with all of Barnes & Noble in-house sketchbooks and journals and is lined.

Mini Composition Notebook – I squealed when I first spied these adorable mini composition notebooks. When I say “mini” I mean it. The notebooks measure 4.5 x 3.25 and I’ve only been able to find them at Wal*Mart. They are ruled and the paper is on the lower end of the quality spectrum. Though oddly enough, better than the paper quality in the full sized composition notebooks sold at Wal*Mart during the school supply season. The best part is the teeny tiny price – $.77! You can’t beat that.

Rhodia note pad A6 – I was a little hesitant to try a spiral bound notebook, since for the most part I don’t tend to like those, but I was surprised at how much I like this one. I suppose the spiral being at the top proved to be less of a bother than I anticipated. Also, Rhodia uses higher quality materials across the board so the flaws I tend to associate with spiral notebooks – snagging my hair and sweaters – weren’t an issue. The purchase of this particular notebook caused me to try out bigger ones and even Rhodia pads with the wirebound on the side – a rarity for me.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. hsofia permalink
    10/21/2010 4:44 am

    I love tiny notebooks too! I have a whole bunch of them on my desk and in other places in my office. I use them as daily everythings, like you do – they’re filled with random thoughts, phone numbers, to-do lists, shopping reminders, window measurements, bill payment receipt #s, etc.

  2. Stacey permalink
    10/21/2010 5:12 am

    I got started with carrying a small notebook at the beginning of the year. It’s only half-filled now but I’ve realized just how handy it is to have a place to write down all of my random notes and ideas. Currently using a cheap mini spiral notebook but when that’s full I think I’ll invest in a better quality notebook.

  3. 10/21/2010 5:23 pm

    @hsofia, I love your tiny notebooks. I use mine for similar reasons. They are the perfect catch all for receipt storage, idea containment and phone numbers!

    @Stacey – ooh! I love the cheap spiral kind, especially the ones made by Mead. During the school supply season they tend to roll out great “Little fat notebooks” which I can never find past October. Though from time to time I see them in grocery stores and pick them up there.

    Ahh, to upgrade or not to upgrade. That is the question. I am of the mindset that if you find something that works for you it’s might be advantageous not to change it. But I also love trying out new products. Did you have a specififc fancier tiny notebook in mind? Also, thanks for stopping by. Love talking notebooks with people!!!

  4. Stacey permalink
    10/21/2010 11:04 pm

    What I’m currently using is one of those Mead “Little fat notebooks”. Picked it up at my local Target back in January. My next notebook though, will be one that has a strap to keep it closed as my current one keeps getting pushed open by other objects in my bag. Kinda puts extra wear and tear on it.

  5. Leah permalink
    10/22/2010 4:59 am

    i have tried so many times to do the tiny notebook thing for thoughts and they always end up with directions to different places and lists for the grocery store. i am also sad to say i decided i hate rhodia notebooks – they are so pretty and i keep trying but i can never find the write pen that produces the correct flow on them!

Trackbacks

  1. 10 Reasons You’ll Be Cooler if You Journal! « Does This Pen Write?

Leave a Reply

