Skip to content

October’s Daily Arsenal

10/25/2010


I carry around a lot of pens. Here are the ones currently in heavy rotation.

  1. Kmart No Name Pen/Highligher – I hacked this one, using some mini-gel pen refills. It’s one of my lost leader pens. I have a lots of these and they’re hackable, so I don’t feel too traumatized if a pen thief makes off with this one. Mostly used to sign register slips and whatnot.
  2. Post-It Flag Gel Pen 0.7mm – I didn’t realize the 0.7mm blue gel pens were that rare. Babby scored this one for me during one of our runs to Office Depot. He is to jump drives as I am to pens. When we go to Office Depot we both valiantly pretend to be interested in the other’s office supply fetish. That said, I don’t know what’s up with our mutual lust for faux leather executive chairs. Please ignore the price tag/sku sticker. I tend to be Minnie Pearl about those things.
  3. Wal*Mart @ The Office Gel Pen – Teal ink – I feel very weird when I don’t have this pen with me. I don’t even use it that much. Still I have to have this particular pen with me at all times. It probably fits into my whole obsession with the color teal.

    Oxford quad rule index card!

  4. Post-It Flag Pen Classic – Ballpoint ink – I keep this around because I love the barrel and reminds me that some day I’ll score another one in black (my preferred barrel color). I ordered this sample from a pen wholesaler, hoping they would send me the black, which they didn’t.
  5. Foray® Focus Fine Writing Rollerball Pen – Ahh, my Monday-go-to-meeting pen! Scoring this pen for two bucks was the highlight of pen hunting last winter. I have finally gotten used to the weighty, metal barrel, and use fancy pen ink cartridge refills. Or sometimes whatever’s lying around.
  6. A & W Nite Companion Pen – This is my workhorse pen. Thankfully, it’s wildly hackable/refillable. I have already gone through two Staedtler 1.6mm Maxum ink refills. I have to trim them down to fit, but have finally figured out a way not to get ink everywhere. Joy joy!
9 Comments leave one →
  1. Donnie permalink
    10/26/2010 12:11 am

    Those @theoffice gel pens are quite nice. Used to go to Magna Tank by Inc. but I guess the company got a deal with Wal-Mart to re-brand their pens under the Wal-Mart banner. Which is cool by me. That way I know where to go get more. 🙂

  2. 10/26/2010 1:34 pm

    @Donnie – I was so happy when these pens returned to WalMart after at least a 12 month absence. They write for days and days and lay down a gorgeous, vivid line. I haven’t been entirely thrilled with the rest of the pens in the revamped @ The Office line, but these gel pens are quite good.

  3. 10/26/2010 2:11 pm

    Now I want to drive to Staples and buy refills for my favorite pens instead of grading papers.

  4. 10/26/2010 2:24 pm

    @Michelle – yes, I’m totally trying to blaze through my workday in order to spend a nice half hour fondling blister packs at Office Maxx or some other big box office supply retailer.

  5. 10/27/2010 3:16 pm

    I did it, too – ditched the office for a half hour or so to go cartridge shopping, and snagged a pen case to do some justice to the chaos that’s been my school bag lately. Speaking of which, what kind of pen case is it that you’re currently porting about?

  6. 10/28/2010 2:13 am

    The one I’m using (pictured above) was a 75% off at Border’s. It’s a bit too small. i am on the hunt for a new one.

  7. diysara permalink
    10/31/2010 12:13 am

    I use ‘make-up bags’ as pencil cases these days 🙂 Keeps all my arsenal in one place and holds more than the typical school age ones – plus they camouflage my obsession ^^

  8. 10/31/2010 9:09 pm

    @DIYSara – ooh. I should try that. There’s a paucity of good pencil cases. Sometimes I can find them at Borders.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention October’s Daily Arsenal « Does This Pen Write? -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

