Skip to content

Why Do You Have to Be a Heartbreaker?

11/08/2010

“I got to say it and it’s hard for me, You got me cryin’ like I thought I would never be.”

Post-it® Flag Pen, Medium Point Red Ballpoint – Generally, I do not use many red pens. It’s not because I had a hateful grade school teacher who loved spilling red ink all over my papers; I didn’t. In grade school I was generally a non visible fave (spared me hateration and bullying) and well, my papers were always perfect. At least close enough. Anyway, my disinterest in red pens is mostly out of respect for other people’s nervous breakdowns and panic attacks over seeing an otherwise harmless, “Hey, wanna hang out?” note take on some other darker, more upsetting meaning sketched out in red ink. Blah blah blah. I’m not kidding or making light of the red pen phobia many people – in the United States – tend to have. Red ink is not the color of Valentine’s Day chalky heart candy, but instead it’s the color of bad grades, paper cuts and that horribly traumatizing Driver’s Ed film series Red Asphalt. Yadda times three. But you know I can’t quit a Post-it® Flag Pen no matter how disappointing it is. This model right here is the Terence Howard of pens. They’re hot looking. often times functional, but not without occasionally being a hot mess.

“You made the rules and you could not see;You made a life out of hurtin’ me.”

Pigma® Micron® Black 05 – These pens lower my self esteem exponentially. They are the cool pens. People who like pens seem to think these are awesome. Even Babby seemed sad and disappointed to see the Micron make it on my list. I have not had the kind of luck with these pens that others have had. What I have had is several ruined sweater sleeves, rubbed the crotches of my fingers raw with alcohol trying to get the ink off, and had these damn things blow up in my purse, leaving a path of destruction in their wake. It’s probably my fault.

“Gotta get out of the spell that I’m under, My love for you.”

Stainless Steel Sharpie® – When I first came to the pen blogging world, comprehensive and brilliant reviews were what made me decide I had to get Stainless Steel Sharpie®. And when I did, I was over the moon until I wasn’t. Stainless Steel Sharpie® reminded me of a guy I briefly dated early in my college career who was so freaking gorgeous, but smelled like a hippie festival Johnny-on-the-Spot. Everyone agreed I was lucky to be dating this dude and nobody seemed to give my concerns about his eyebrow searing body odor any consideration. So I kept being happy watching him walk towards me from a distance and unable to stand him up close and personal. By briefly, I mean like two weeks.

“I am held by the power of you love.Tell me when do we try, or should we say goodbye?

Sharpie® Retractable Fine Point Pens – Now Office Supply Geek did this awesome “behind the Sharpie” post where he took apart several different Sharpie pen models and showed the world all their business. That expose confirmed the suspicion I had all along: the RT Sharpie pen had substantially less ink than the first generation Sharpie pen. This proved to be a major bummer because they are not refillable/hackable – I have tried and have the jacked up t-shirt and towels to prove it – and they are a lot pricer than the first generation pen. Man, I have had these run dry on me in the middle of a sentence. It’s a real damn heartbreaker.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Joanne permalink
    11/08/2010 12:54 pm

    I have a Sharpie Retractable Fine Point in my bag right now – I am using it the most so that it will run out and I can throw it away guilt free. It gets no love from me, don’t like the way it writes, don’t like how it feels in my hand, even pen-borrowers haven’t walked off with it.

  2. 11/08/2010 2:37 pm

    ❤ ❤ ❤

  3. 11/09/2010 1:58 am

    I’ve also had negative experiences with the Pigma Micron 05. As the ink runs out, it starts to look kind of grey. (Un)fortunately, I always seem to shred the tip before the ink runs out.

    I don’t know if these are hackable and they don’t sell refills. I think I’m going to have to shell out for the Copic Multiliner .

  4. 11/09/2010 1:59 am

    “I don’t know if these are hackable and they don’t sell refills.”

    This refers to the Pigma Micron. The Copic Multiliner has refills.

  5. 11/09/2010 3:21 pm

    @Jessica – the Copic is fantastic!

  6. 11/10/2010 2:36 pm

    Thanks for sharing some of the als0-rans, sometimes it feels like you never met a pen you didn’t like. I remember when there was a ton of excitement about the stainless Sharpies, and they were hard to find. Now they’re always on the racks at OfficeMax, and gathering dust too. I suspect the same thing is going to happen to the Sharpie pencil, which I really want to love but am having trouble committing to.

    For some reason I have a whole lot of red pens. I actually really like writing in red ink, but I find it fatiguing to read a whole page of red later so I rarely use red for anything more than shopping lists or adding something important to a page that’s already full up.

  7. 11/10/2010 9:32 pm

    You know those Seltzer 7-year pens? They came in at work today. I was so excited to try one! We unwrapped one to put out as a test pen and I took it for a spin.

    From the moment I put pen to paper, it was all disappointment. It’s such a pretty pen! But the ink is utterly unimpressive. Novelty pen quality. They aren’t built to be refillable; perhaps they are hackable, but I wouldn’t pay $7.50 to find out. My heart, it is broken.

  8. 11/12/2010 9:02 am

    @Michelle – Oh no! This is the second less than glowing report about the 7 year pen! Not good news at all. There’s no point in having a pen write disappointingly for seven years. I’m just not that much of a masochistic.

    @Redlami – The Stainless Steel Sharpie is by far the most disappointing because it’s the best looking of the bunch. it’s the exact weight and finger feel of my dream pen, but it smells like migraine in a bottle. I can’t get down on that strong, offensive noxious Sharpie Smell, which always makes me feel as though someone put a rag soaked in Chloroform in front of my nose and mouth.

Leave a Reply

