Skip to content

Crayola® Twistables™ No. 2 Pencils

11/12/2010

Crayola® Twistables™ #2 Mechanical Pencils, HB, 2.0 mm, Graphite, Pack Of 3 are a school teacher’s dream; no sharpening required. That means no more trips to the back of the classroom by lovestruck students looking for an innocent excuse to steal glances at their beloved. Well that’s a real bummer.

I am not well-versed in the ways of mechanical pencils but I have been getting such an education via daily trips to the archives of the fantastic blog Dave’s Mechanical Pencils. I am ODing on the clutch pencils – which is actually how I found this fantabulous site – and getting a serious schooling on mechanical pencils. Amazing pictures and loving all the nostalgia in motion with Dave’s mentions of my childhood home – Deutschland! Pencil/pen shopping in Deutschland was more fun for me than even Fasching, which, for the record, is pretty darn tootin’ fun.

Despite not being as knowledgeable in the ways of mechanical pencils, I humbly submit my review of this here Crayola® Twistables™ No. 2 Pencil, which is a barrel of fun loving monkeys in mechanical pencil form1

The pencil aesthetics made me terribly giddy. I don’t even like pencils that much, yet a plastic barrel designed to look like a pencil, while keeping well established design elements of other items in Crayola’s® stable of colorful, modestly priced products makes me all kinds of happy. The twisting mechanism is housed at the top of the pencil directly underneath the non-replaceable eraser. The twisting mechanism is easy to use, offers no challenge to the “right-y tighty, lefty loose-y” paradigm; one long turn to the left conceals the lead. Good times.

This pencil is definitely made for children and hard writing adults alike. You can exert an awful lot of punishment on the tip before the lead gives way and breaks! There’s nothing more frustrating than going on a written tear only to have the doggone lead break before you get to your point! (no pun intended). I could write a host of frothy rants without fear of breaking leads or committing my thoughts to posterity. Another cool feature: you can’t pull out the lead, even when it’s extended fully!

The Bottom Line:

  • Very cool, whimsical styling
  • Definitely a no. 2 pencil and reads fine on fill-in-the-bubble tests, according to a teacher friend of mine.
  • not hackable or refillable
  • sold in packs of 3 for the rock bottom price of $1.50!!! Scored mine at Toys-R-US during a BOGO situation.
  • really big “nib”. 2mm!!! Does not make for elegant writing, but will help you solve a few word problems.

____________________________________
1 As always, your fun-to-monkeys ratio may vary.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. hsofia permalink
    11/12/2010 9:29 am

    I like regular pencils and would use them more often if I didn’t find the script hard to read after a while on most sheet paper. I’d given up on mechanical pencils due to the snapping leads, am glad to hear there is an affordable one that doesn’t have that problem. But the thing that sticks out to me from the photos is the shiny barrel – how do you get a good grip on something like that?

  2. 11/12/2010 9:51 am

    I was surprised at the ease of use, despite being a rather slick surface. It doesn’t even fatigue the hand, something I’m always concerned about, since I prefer writing by hand. The biggest problem I have with this product is that oversized nib. I wish it came in something smaller, like say 1.0mm.

  3. Stacey permalink
    11/13/2010 12:35 am

    Will have to check this out as I always tend to be hard on my mechanical pencils. I’ve been using the 0.9mm variation and I still have issues with the lead breaking. Guess I need to learn to not push so hard when writing with mechanical pencils.

  4. 11/13/2010 4:47 pm

    Very Nice review. I will certainly look for these in the store and give them a try now.

  5. skyler431 permalink
    07/18/2011 1:16 am

    I bought 2 of these about a year ago and just love them. So easy to use and don’t have to worry about sharpening. Now I would like to get more, but don’t remember where I got them and can’t seem to find them anywhere. Anybody know where I can purchase more of these?

Trackbacks

  1. A New Year; Same Old Pens! « Does This Pen Write?

Leave a Reply

