Skip to content

November’s Daily Arsenal

11/16/2010

Here’s all the stuffs I’m lugging around in my giant Kathy Von Zeeland beast-of-burden handbag, which surprisingly has room for a standard size laptop, a mess of writing supplies and even a change of clothes without killing my shoulder. Naturally, there’s the purse-within-a-purse sitch, which enables me to keep all that crap well corralled! What are you carrying around these days?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/16/2010 2:57 pm

    I got a Kenneth Cole messenger bag last summer to better organize the portable office I had to carry with me on the road. That job went blessedly away in June, but the bag is just as useful now since training for my new job makes me feel like I’m back in college. It has lots of pockets (so many, in fact, that I keep re-finding things I thought I’d lost) and contains a five subject notebook, a planner, a sheaf of dispatcher codes and a brick of 3 X 5 cards with police codes and telephone exchanges I have to commit to memory, a zippered pencil case crammed full of all my favorite pens, hand sanitizer, a bank bag with a deposit in it and the $30,000 worth of bills I wrote last night for my ambulance association, a roll of stamps, a calculator, cough drops, and all the badges and ID I need to do all my jobs, both paid and volunteer. According to the dusty scale I pulled out from under the bed it weighs 14.6 pounds.

    PS I read ‘Special Topics in Calamity Physics’ and LOVED it. Hope you do too.

  2. 11/18/2010 1:54 pm

    It has lots of pockets (so many, in fact, that I keep re-finding things I thought I’d lost) and contains a five subject notebook, a planner, a sheaf of dispatcher codes and a brick of 3 X 5 cards with police codes and telephone exchanges I have to commit to memory, a zippered pencil case crammed full of all my favorite pens, hand sanitizer, a bank bag with a deposit in it and the $30,000 worth of bills I wrote last night for my ambulance association, a roll of stamps, a calculator, cough drops, and all the badges and ID I need to do all my jobs, both paid and volunteer. According to the dusty scale I pulled out from under the bed it weighs 14.6 pounds.

    Omg, that’s amazing!!! What kind of index cards? Blank? Graph? Ruled? Tell me about your favorite pens. Also, I really enjoyed ‘Special Topics’ and own both the audiobook and the hard copy.

  3. 11/18/2010 3:54 pm

    My daily bag is a green Keen Hillsdale 2 (now discontinued), a $90 bag I scored at Marshall’s for about $30 some months ago. It has some great storage compartments; in the office pockets, I carry around a few mini graph-ruled notebooks, a Sharpie pencil and two fine point Sharpie pens, a small travel vial of ibuprofen, lip balm, bluetooth wireless headset, corded earphones, SD card and adapter, and cough drops. In the zipper compartment I have checkbook, some more meds, spare keys and some ID. The main compartment has a revolving cast of characters that usually includes some notebooks and full-size quad-ruled pads, latest New Yorker issue, miscellaneous filing and today’s lunch. And there are still three pockets that are empty! I love this bag!

Leave a Reply

