Skip to content

Clutch Pencil Hack!

11/18/2010

Clutch pencils fall into the category of products I adore but have little to no use for. Still, in rummaging through my pencil drawer I stumbled onto this one and I realized it has morphed into a pen by means of me placing ink cartridges inside instead of pencil lead. While it’s not a super complicated hack, it has been one I really like because there are some fantabulous clutch pencils on the market and they’d probably work well as clutch pens as well.This Art Alternatives clutch pencil was a part of my pen booty scored a year ago back when I first began maintaining this blog. Since acquiring the clutch pencil I’ve used various ink cartridges with it, though for the most part I tend to prefer Staedtler 1.6mm ink cartridges cannibalized from their casings. Does anyone else do this with their Clutch pencils or am I just a weirdo?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/19/2010 8:23 pm

    very clever my dear… very clever indeed. now i have another item to add to my arsenal 😀 mwahahaha

  2. 11/19/2010 8:25 pm

    I didn’t even realize this type of pencil existed! I thought the clutch device was mainly used for charcoal and chalk. What an imaginative repurposing! Why should artists have all the fun with such cool supplies?

  3. 11/20/2010 1:45 pm

    Actually I love my clutch pencil – I have one that I acquired from Levenger with dry highlighter refills and I use it with graphite for sketching.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Clutch Pencil Hack! « Does This Pen Write? -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

