Skip to content

Foray® Liquid Porous Point Pens 0.5 mm

11/28/2010

I love wandering around Office Depot and finding a new pen from their Foray® brand. This time up it’s Foray® Liquid Porous Point Pens, which are sold in sets and individually (though to get the full range of colors you have to purchase the set), are pretty interesting. Perhaps I missed the boat on the excitement surrounding the new hotness of the advancement in Porous Point technology, but it seems several other companies make a similar product. The first thing I found appealing, was the pen’s aesthetics mimic those of Foray® Liquid Rollerball Pen and actually, I thought I was purchasing that particular pen rather than the Porous Point model. Maybe I should read those blister packs more carefully.

In looking at the nib I was reminded of those old Paper Mate Flair, which pioneered this porous point technology. In addition to pioneering the technology, the Flair pen has long been a product of little interest to me.

On the page, the pen, particularly the black ink model, performed like an Extra Fine Sharpie Marker, but without the smell or bleed through. That really got my attention. I have been looking for a great pen that approximates all the joys of an Extra Fine Sharpie Marker with none of the offensive odors. Though, I’m sure some might debate the idea the Foray Porous Point is commensurate with a Sharpie. And since I don’t use Sharpie markers all that much, they’d probably be right.

Of the colors I road tested, I preferred the black, the green (not shown) and was underwhelmed by the red and the blue. The red was too orange-y and the blue was blah and annoying. I noted limited bleed through, which I chalked up to the delicateness of the paper I used for the writing sample.

The Bottom Line:

  • Nice looking pen in an assortment of nice looking colors.
  • affordable regardless of being packaged individually or as part of a set. $3.99 for a set of four pens)
  • Limited bleed through, which might vary depending on the kind of paper you use.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. Marty permalink
    11/29/2010 7:21 pm

    I have had terrible luck with Office Depot pens. Half the time, they don’t work at all (dried up) or they just work for a little while then freeze up. Foray seem to be especially bad. Has anyone else had this problem, or is it just that my local store gets all the bad pens???

  2. Sara permalink
    12/05/2010 3:05 am

    I just splurged on the big pack with 12 colors 🙂 I hope these scratch my new pen itch ^^

  3. 12/05/2010 3:46 pm

    Ooh. I can’t wait to hear what you think of them. I really like them and wish I had gotten the big pack.

  4. Howardpenjersey permalink
    12/16/2010 2:42 pm

    Marty: You’re right. I’ve tried most of their gel and roller pens and they’re not good…grips, ink quality, nah…For that matter, Staples’ own brand of pens kind of sucks also.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Foray® Liquid Porous Point Pens 0.5 mm « Does This Pen Write? -- Topsy.com
  2. A New Year; Same Old Pens! « Does This Pen Write?

Leave a Reply

