Skip to content

Fresh or Tired: Uni-Ball Vision

11/30/2010

Trying something new here. There are a lot of pens popular among enthusiasts that I have never tried. So I thought why not turn the floor over to my knowledgeable and witty readers. In the inaugural edition of “Fresh or Tired” I bring you the Uni-Ball Vision. Have you used this pen? If so, what do you like or dislike about it. Anyone have experience with the Vision’s often touted anti-check washing technology?

notebook - Bloc Rhodia No. 11

22 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/30/2010 2:03 pm

    I have so many versions of Visions in my arsenal, it borders on sick. Heh what did I just say – it borders on Amazing! hehe

    These pens work from start to the last drop of ink. The ink is vibrant and waterproof.

    I have traditional versions from 10+ years ago that are still going strong. I have retractables, needle tips and the elite versions as well.

    Love love love these pens! ^^

  2. lindsay permalink
    11/30/2010 2:16 pm

    I like everything about the Vision except its strong tendency to leak when exposed to pressure changes (i.e., on planes). I don’t use them nearly as much as I used to, because I’m left-handed and have mostly switched to quick-drying gel ink pens for smearing reasons… but Uniball Visions were some of my first “nice” pens, and they’ll always have a special place in my heart.

  3. Ricky Roo permalink
    11/30/2010 4:00 pm

    I LOVE THESE PENS. They aren’t my daily use pens, but I have a grip of them floating around my house, and never pause to reach for one if my preferred pen isn’t nearby. I vote FRESH. This shit is classic.

  4. katefate permalink
    11/30/2010 4:23 pm

    Though they’ve lost their lustre, that’s one I’ll grab for out of a jar filled with newer, cooler pens.

  5. unscrambled permalink
    11/30/2010 6:01 pm

    I think of this as the pen snob’s stick pen. Solid, dependable, but ultimately nothing special. A bit scratchy for my tastes. I have a few of them in the multicolors–that’s nice.

  6. Hazel permalink
    11/30/2010 6:43 pm

    They’re a bit scratchy and prone to bleeding through the page, IMO. I don’t love them, but they’ll do if there’s nothing better. I do like that the black is nice and dark, and if you’re writing on high quality paper the scratchiness isn’t a problem.

  7. 11/30/2010 7:50 pm

    Thank you, all for your thoughts and opinions. I like the pens, but didn’t find them to be remarkable. I agree with Unscrambled assessment, “I think of this as the pen snob’s stick pen. Solid, dependable, but ultimately nothing special.”

  8. 11/30/2010 8:35 pm

    Like Josh Kornbluth, I once counted Uniball Vision micro pens as my own personal weakness, but in the past year I’ve started to move on. I haven’t much use these days for caps, which I’m likely to lose; for slow-drying ink, which I’m likely to smear; or for non-refillable pens. I’m still using up a few Visions around the house, but I don’t see myself buying any more of them when there are other pens (including a few other Uniball varieties) striking far more my fancy.

  9. 11/30/2010 9:18 pm

    I have a set of colored Vision needle tip pens, and a couple of stray Vision Elites that were given to me by a friend who didn’t like them. The needle-tip pens are less scratchy and nicer to work with, but if I didn’t like the colors so much I don’t think I’d bother with them. I just don’t like the scratchiness (my favorite writing pen is the super-smooth Jetstream) and I have to be really careful not to smear the ink.

  10. 12/01/2010 4:15 am

    One thing that I don’t like about the Uni-ball Vision is that it bleeds and feathers on just about all papers, except for the best-quality ones, which it is not always possible to use. And another annoyance – the “Fine” Vision is not fine at all – much closer to a medium. Still, not a bad pen – writes very smoothly with bright vibrant ink colour – but just not one of my favourites.

  11. 12/01/2010 9:52 am

    Not my favorites. I agree with the assessment of them as scratchy. I really don’t like how they flow on the page. They’re also terribly prone to cracking and leaking, in my experience, they’re not a pen that can healthily travel around being bounced around in my purse for very long.

  12. Joanne permalink
    12/01/2010 1:06 pm

    I like the colours, I have several in my desk drawer and have done so for a few years. I’m in a blue phase right now though, and it’s really not my go-to blue pen.

  13. 12/01/2010 2:13 pm

    These were my go-to letter writing pens for a very long time because they glided so smoothly over airmail stationery and I used to do a LOT of international letter writing. Then I discovered the Zebra Sarasa…and I skipped off happily with a fistful of them. Who could resist a pen that comes in forest green, maroon, and lovely dusty shades of blue? But the Uniball is trusty to the last; no skritchiness or skipping, a good fast-glider for taking notes in a class, etc…(do people still do that or does everyone have a laptop?)

  14. 12/04/2010 12:04 pm

    So tired. One of my least favorite pens, especially the 0.7mm ones.

  15. 12/04/2010 4:11 pm

    In a pinch, sure. But the last time I bought a pack, one of them got ink all over the place. I do not really like the performance of the pen, either. I will say that I much prefer the Vision Elite (blue) and the Vision RT fine (black). They are much better than the regular Vision.

  16. 12/04/2010 9:03 pm

    I do not have any of the original uniball Vision pens, but I do have several of the Vision RT’s. I do like them, although they aren’t my favorite (the Jetstreams are still my faves). They write nicely, though I find the bolder tip to have too broad a line for me, and prefer the fine point ones.

  17. 12/04/2010 10:35 pm

    So tired. One of my least favorite pens, especially the 0.7mm ones.

    LOL!

  18. Howardpenjersey permalink
    12/16/2010 2:38 pm

    TIRED. Have tried them as they’ve come on market, but don’t get what’s good. The Vision RT 0.7 is the last one I tried…just took it out to try again after reading this…still don’t get it. Skips; barrel, while pretty in blue and gray doesn’t feel good to me. I’m (alone in being) a big fan of the Jetstream premier with bold refill (1.0)…best grip ever, smooth write 90% of the time. But the Vision? Not so much.

  19. 12/30/2010 10:38 am

    I started with the vision micro (0.5) and love them. Took them on trips to the west coast, Hawaii, Korea, and China twice (15 hour flights) and never had a problem with leaks. I always use black, don’t like the colors.

    They are used on most ALL of my illustrated journals. I have not a draw full of them but DRAWERS full of them. They are in every pocket of my jackets too, just in case.

    Being the pen snob that I am, I didn’t like the mundane look of the original vision micro and discovered the vision micro needle. They look a bit classier in the pocked with the nice metal clip that curves ever-so-slighly to the top. The Needles write smoother than the original tipped version too.

    What I like:
    1) waterproof (can watercolor over them)
    2) cheap ($5 for a four pack at Walmart)
    3) reliable
    4) jet black color
    5) smooth writing

    The only improvements I’d make is:
    1) make a finer tip, say an 0.3
    2) make a brown ink
    (Stanford are you listening???)

    …dave

  20. demintia permalink
    08/30/2011 8:50 pm

    i personally love jetstreams,but i just couldnt figure out how to refill super ink into the vision fine uniball,any help?

  21. daveterry permalink
    08/30/2011 10:55 pm

    demintia: No, I’ve not tried to refill the uni-ball vision micro needles (or non-needles).

    Lately I’ve been using the black RT 0.38 uni-ball. Same great ink (waterproof) but finer for sketching and for writing in small pocket books. They exterior isn’t much to look at so here’s what I did:

    1) Buy a G2 Limited retractable rollerball pen. (See link below except I bought one for $10 at Walmart.)

    2) buy a pack of RT 0.38 uni-ball

    Remove the non-waterproof G2 and replace with the waterproof insert of the RT 0.38 uni-ball. You might have to trim the top a bit.

    That’s it. A great waterproof sketch pen in a hansom exterior.

    I’m now living in China and my fear was not finding uni-ball pens locally. However they are everywhere here.

    Hope this helps.
    …dave

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Fresh or Tired: Uni-Ball Vision « Does This Pen Write? -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

