Skip to content

Tools of the Trade: Planners 2011!

12/22/2010

As 2010 draws to a close my thoughts turn to Weekly/Monthly/Daily Planners and whether I will find one to hold my attention for the better part of 365 days. I tend to go back and forth between planners and usually having several going at once. This is probably not the most efficient means of planning and organizing, but I seems to work best for me. That said, I’m looking forward to trying out a host of planners and organizing in hopes of finding that elusive perfect planner that has all the elements I need, holds my attention and compensates for my ADD and inability to stick to a single paper planning device. I tend to view planners as the grown up version of children’s activity books – a way to keep minds occupied and wet fingers from finding their way into the ear canals of seat mates. I really love them in theory, particularly as I am a person who prefers writing things by hand, but I am kind of fickle and a year is a long time to make a commitment to any one office product, which is why I tend to purchase them in large numbers, yet rarely make good use of them. Not this year. I have a planning goal: I am going to find one or two and be disciplined about using them. I already have Moleskine 2011 Daily Planner Box Set so I’ll be in the market for one more!

Scion Level Price point

Moleskine 2011 Extra Small Daily Planner (2.5 x 4 inches) – $9.95 – A gorgeous pocket sized daily planner, which packs a lot of planner punch in a tiny package. While I typically like a lot more planner, after having used Moleskine 2011 Daily Planner Box Set I’m really impressed with Moleskine’s itty bitty planners.

Ecosystem 2011 18 Month Weekly Planner – $8.95 – Measuring 3.625” x 5.625” and wonderfully multitasking, I was really dazzled by the Ecosystem products. I was lured to their line, which is sold exclusive at Barnes & Noble by a review Office Supply Geek, whose comprehensive and thoughtful review thoroughly sold me on the their functionality and stylishness. And for those who are committed to sustainability, these are a whole lot of treehugging for not too many shiny rocks.

Toyota Level Price Point

Rhodia Weekly Notebook (4 x 6) Jan – Dec – $15 – Oh how I love Rhodia products. I could see myself hatching out my day in any number of cheap notebooks I currently own before transferring the “best of the best” into this planner. Yeah, I’m weird that way. Also, I’m fairly certain carrying around this gorgeous planner could soften some of the sting of rejected project concepts, magazine articles and book proposals.

2011 Moleskine 18 Month Weekly Planner 5×8 – $18 – Another brilliant Moleskine organizational product. Hardcover and in stunning in take-no-prisoner red. There is something decadent about planning one’s world domination between the covers of this yummy, intuitively engineered planning machine!

Lexus Level Price Point

2011 Barnes & Noble Desk Diary – $20 – This was one of my first grown up planners. It was fancy and I was intimidated. I have since gotten over my fears and use this one to plan/organize my creative projects. I enjoy reading the sanitized quotes and random facts about writers whose work I haven’t bothered to read. In addition to caricatures of prominent literary figures such as James Baldwin, Stephen King and James Joyce, the desk diary also includes a list of all the Fiction Pulitzer Prize winners to date. If seeing The Road in the same phrase as “Pulitzer Prize” doesn’t compel you to organize and complete writing projects – either because you’re inspired by the work, or simply cannot believe such dreck wins major book prizes – this probably isn’t the planner for you. (PS: wait until mid Jan. and score this tricked out desk diary for up to 60% off! I think you feel me!)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/22/2010 5:15 am

    I had the Moleskine 18 Month Weekly Planner (a vertical one) for 2010, and found it on the whole to be very good…especially loved the ruled notebook page on the right, found it very helpful. BUT, I have to say the one thing that drove me crazy, is there’s no “month overview” page–a layout with a traditional calendar layout that lets me see the whole month at a glance. But then again, I have yet to find a daily pocket planner that actually includes this feature…the day I do, I’ll be in love 😉

  2. Joanne permalink
    12/22/2010 3:08 pm

    I picked up the Moleskine Extra Small Weekly Planner (horizontal) to start off 2011, I was taken by the size and the shade of pink (not pastel!). We’ll see how long I go before I pick up something else…

  3. 12/22/2010 6:40 pm

    Laura, you may be happy with the 2011 Moleskine planners, they all now have month-overview calendar pages instead of the months as vertical columns. I am really excited about the new monthly calendars because I too have to have the month overview.

    I have a stack of 2011 planners to choose from, and my goal is to settle on one by the end of January and use it all year! But considering I’ve used more than a dozen planners each year for the past two years, I wonder if I’ll be able to commit!

  4. Shinobi permalink
    12/30/2010 9:09 pm

    This makes me wish my life was interesting enough to require a planner. I do so love office supplies! Maybe I should go back to school just so I can have a planner again.

  5. 12/31/2010 8:55 pm

    I love planners and have had my 2011 since October or something, ready to go. It’s the Daily Muse songbirds planner (viewable here) because I love birds and the color red. In past years I’ve opted for a pocket-size planner, but I just liked this one too much to pass it up.

Trackbacks

  1. Posts of the Week Dec 20 to Dec 26 | Writing and Scribbling

Leave a Reply

