Skip to content

uni-ball® Jetstream™ 101 Rollerball

01/06/2011

With sexy ad copy such as, “Smooth like gel ink, but quick drying like the ink from a ballpoint” the little-bit-country-little-bit-rock-and-roll uni-ball® Jetstream™ 101 Rollerball is like the Parker Lewis of the pen universe; it just can’t lose. Or can it?

Even before reading about its, ” uni Super Ink™, specially-formulated to become trapped in paper, helping prevent criminal check washing and other document alteration” goodness – does anyone still write checks anymore – I was intrigued by this pen. Certainly more than I’ve been intrigued by any other pen in uni-ball’s roster. That said, I’m not entirely comfortable with the idea of anything I write by hand being, “trapped in paper” it sounds, well, kind of confining. Nevertheless, uni had already gotten my three Washingtons – because you know in these times it’s all about the Washingtons – so I was ready to take the ride as it were.

Aesthetic wise, the pen is quite nice with its all black barrel and color coded grip section. I only purchased the black, but I imagine the blue model announces its ink color quite nicely as well. The pen definitely feels great in the hand and its sturdy, but soft grip should stand up to much interoffice punishment if your Office Coordinator should opt to order them.

Unlike the last uni product I tried, this one wrote immediately out of the blister pack. While I wouldn’t classify the performance as spectacular, it was everything it advertised itself to be and I suppose that should count for something. If it sounds like this pen kind of bored me; it did. When I see the word, “new” splashed across the blister packaging I want razzle dazzle. I want sparkle motion and possibly some ring-a-ding-ding. Maybe I just need to get out more or join the circus, so my pens won’t have so much required of them.

The Bottom Line:

  • Write nicely and sears your words to the paper forever ::echo::
  • attractive styling
  • nice, comfortable grip for hours of crafting doodles during boring meetings
  • reasonably priced at $3.50 for a pack of 3.

So have you tried these pens yet? Are you dazzled? Are they going to give your G2s a run for the money?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/06/2011 1:53 pm

    Sometimes a good ole’ dependably boring pen is just what one needs in between the razzle and the dazzle. This one sounds like it hits the sweet spot in price & performance!

  2. 01/06/2011 7:39 pm

    I have some retractable JetStreams and I like them. They’re pretty smooth for a ballpoint and low on smearing. For myself, I find them to be a good journaling pen, especially for journals with thin pages, because they lay down a decent line without showing through on the other side.

  3. Howardpenjersey permalink
    01/07/2011 9:46 pm

    It’s a Bic Stic for the hybrid ink generation! It’s OK; and if it dries easy my favorite lefty can use it. Having said that, I still like the Premier (puffy grip) the best… They have a place beside my G2 family.

  4. James permalink
    01/08/2011 12:26 pm

    I’ve been using these for about 2-3 months now, they’re pretty awesome. I’ve got three, red, blue in 1.0, black in 0.7.

    Thus far, they’ve lived up to their advertising. They are very smooth, start every time and never skip, even on thermal paper, where many cheap (and not so cheap Pilots…) ballpoints skip frequently.

    While their design is simple, that’s just a function of their price. At this price, you generally seem to get either dazzling rubbish or simple and solid. I know which I prefer. If you’re after dazzle, there’s the rest of the Jetstream range.

    Finally, I’m a lefty, and these dry near-instantaneously. The G2’s abysmal drying time makes it near-useless for me.

  5. 01/14/2011 11:39 pm

    @James – I have noticed their speedy drying time too! I should have mentioned they are great pens for lefties. Thanks for that input!!! And thanks for commenting.

    @Redlami – these pens are a great upgrade from the usual stick pen, though a bit spendy for Office Coordinators. They will need to drop in price significantly.

    @Michelle – I am curious about trying out other products in their line. I have been using the pen for much of the week and it has actually grown on me.

    @Howardpenjersey – I don’t know about the Premiere! Tell me more. Sounds like my kind of pen. Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Howardpenjersey permalink
    01/16/2011 10:54 pm

    Here’s a link to the picture and info about the Premier.

    It’s all about the cushioning for me; you can use 1.0 refill (comes with one) or the 0.7.

    Howard

  7. 01/19/2011 6:32 pm

    @Howardpenjersey, that pen looks like a real star. I might have to pick one up during my next Staples run.

  8. lisbeth permalink
    01/29/2011 11:11 pm

    me want.

  9. Vine permalink
    01/30/2011 3:01 am

    I didn’t dig on these pens much. I didn’t like teh they wrote.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention uni-ball® Jetstream™ 101 Rollerball « Does This Pen Write? -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

