Skip to content

Novelty Pens: The Maze Pen

01/18/2011

The Maze Pen – I have nicknamed the Inception pen – made me squeal as it fell out of the package of pens Babby bought me. (more on the other pens in upcoming posts) I was immediately taken with the barrel, which looks like a standard stick pen, but slightly thicker. Housed inside the clear casing is a standard ball maze game, that looks simple, but was quite difficult. Another thing I should quickly note is unlike similar pens, the Inception pen doesn’t rattle much when you’re not playing the game. This is usually a concern as it relates to these kinds of pens. So if that would cause you to write this pen off – ha – then don’t let it.

As is the case with most novelty pens the ink performance is fair to poor. In this case the ink is okay, but not especially dazzling. If you’re planning on using this pen to occupy your mind during boring meetings you might want to bring a higher quality writing instrument to take notes. You know, if you actually still take notes by hand. The pen is refillable and Size-It Ballpoint Pen refills are my go-to refills because you can alter them to fit most ballpoint pens!

The Bottom Line

  • Fun, engaging maze
  • average writing performance
  • bargain priced at $1.99 to $2.99
5 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/18/2011 2:21 pm

    Nolan should be sending one of these out with every “for your consideration” video.

  2. 01/19/2011 6:20 am

    Oh my goodness, I think I’m in love! Not with the pen, but with this blog! I’m a fellow “penophile” (sounds naughty, but I say it ’cause it makes me giggle), and very picky about my writing instruments. I love your reviews! πŸ™‚

  3. 01/19/2011 6:29 pm

    @Devon – Thank you kindly! I’m glad you’ve found the blog. Feel free to poke around the archives. πŸ™‚

  4. 01/19/2011 6:32 pm

    @Redlami – Agreed. It certainly couldn’t hurt. It’s a really fun pen!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Novelty Pens: The Maze Pen Β« Does This Pen Write? -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

